Pardeeville Defends Trailways Large Title

Pardeeville chases its fourth consecutive piece of the Trailways Large championship, but it won't be easy because the Bulldogs and several potential pursuers lost key personnel.

Trailways Large

Pardeeville romped through the league with a 7-0 mark, which put them two games ahead of Oshkosh Lourdes, Deerfield and Dodgeland.

The Bulldogs have earned a piece of the conference championship the past three seasons, the last two being outright crowns.


The explosive Bulldogs finished the regular season at 8-1 overall, scoring 42 or more points six times. However, their D-5 playoff run lasted one game as they fell to Weyauwega-Fremont in their ninth consecutive appearance.

Pardeeville returns first-team running back Pat Banks, who also made the second unit at outside linebacker. Banks gained 1,332 yards on 191 carries (7.0) and 17 touchdowns

Also back is senior second-team tight end Tanner Westbury.

But the Bulldogs must replace the likes of Luke Standiford, the league's player of the year after making the first team as a wide receiver and defensive back. Also gone are first-teamers in quarterback Patrick Haynes, offensive linemen Blake Walker and Jeremy Peterson and defensive lineman Chad Vahradian.

Standiford caught 40 passes for 841 yards (21.0) and 10 scores, while Haynes completed 93 of 167 attempts (55.7 percent) for 1,629 yards and 18 TDs.

Standiford has taken his talents to NCAA Division I-AA school Southern Illinois. Haynes is a preferred walk-on at Minnesota-Moorhead and Walker is headed to Southwest Minnesota State, both D-II programs, while Vahradian will suit up at UW-Stevens Point.

Second-team inside linebacker Mike Richardson also graduated.

Oshkosh Lourdes

The Knights finished 7-2 overall and played in their fifth straight postseason, where they fell in their D-6 opener to eventual runner-up Iola-Scandinavia, 35-0.

Lourdes must replace key all-league choices in receiver Adam Leib, tight end-defensive lineman Adam Posorske, offensive lineman-inside linebacker Thomas Moore and kicker-punter Kevin Johnson.

Offensive lineman Andy Scovronski graduated, but fellow second-team selections in wide receiver Ryne Baehman, quarterback Aaron Williams and outside linebacker Justin Spanbauer, all seniors, return.


The Demons went 1-1 in nonconference games to end the regular season at 6-3. Their fourth straight postseason trip ended against Cuba City (35-0) in the first round of D-6, a year after they advanced to the championship contest.

Two key performers return in senior first-team defensive linemen Brandon Shaw and John Podmolik. Senior second-team defensive back and punter Mike Hommen also returns.

However, Deerfield must fill many holes, including those left by first-team running back and inside linebacker Dylan Jackson (also the second-team kicker), first-team linebacker Ryan Gosdeck and first-team defensive back Jordan Polk.

Jackson finished with 1,036 yards and 16 rushing TDs and took four of his five receptions for scores through nine games.


The Trojans went 5-2 in league action and were 6-3 overall before Racine Lutheran eliminated them, 38-12, in the opening round of the D-6 bracket. It was the school's ninth playoff berth and sixth this decade.

Dodgeland lost first-team choices in running back-inside linebacker Steve Vielbaum, two-way lineman Kyle Brady, offensive lineman Travis Firari, outside backer Steve Schecher, defensive back Jake Soldner and special teams player Alex Vergenz.

Vielbaum will take his talents to UW-Whitewater.

The Trojans' nucleus will feature senior second-team choices in tight end and punter Derek Pieper, kicker Brent Saugstad and running back Steven Schmidt.


The Hornets settled for a 3-6 overall finish that included a 2-5 league record, meaning a second year in a row without playoff football.

Markesan must find a replacement for first-team wide receiver Lukey Klitz, who also earned second-team honors at defensive back and punter. Second-teamers in kicker Pierre Coucke, special teams ace Matt Fenske, wide receiver Ryan Krueger and offensive lineman Chris Smoody also graduated.

Top returnees include senior second-team tight end Lucas Brown and senior second-team quarterback Brett Strahota, who completed 86 of 176 passes (48.9 percent) for 1,103 yards and six scores in eight outings.


The Oaks also finished 2-5 and 3-6, ending a run of three postseason berths in four years.

Their top returning performer is senior first-team defensive line selection Alex Smith. Senior second-teamers in offensive lineman Nathan Smith and inside linebacker Brayden Kottke join him.

Oakfield must fill the gaps left by second-team running back Ryan McArthur and second-team kicker and outside linebacker Travis Schaefer.


The Rockets failed to blast off, compiling a 3-6 overall mark that featured a 2-5 league finish. The perennial power in boys basketball missed the playoffs for a third straight time after qualifying for a 14th year in 2004.

Randolph must replace running back Jeff Steele, but fellow second-teamers in offensive lineman Jordan Wendlandt, defensive back Corey Pfeffer, defensive lineman Jared Reuter and inside linebacker A.J. Schick are back. Schick is a junior and the others are seniors.


The Hilltoppers couldn't dent the win column, finishing 0-7 and 0-8. Montello had made its first playoff trip since 1990 when it qualified for D-6 action in 2006, while Princeton made its last of four appearances in 2000.

Second-team defenders in inside linebacker Jon Hoffman, lineman Luke Kearns and back Dane McCullough have graduated.

Badger State Preps Top Stories