Danielson, Elliott Top All-State Girls Golf

Osceola's Lindsay Danielson won her fourth straight D-2 medalist honor, while Alyssa Elliott helped Madsion Edgewood win its eighth consecutive state team championship. They made the WGCA seven-member first team, as did Nicolet's Tory Bauman, who won her second D-1 medalist trophy in a row.

Record-setting Lindsay Danielson of Osceola and fellow senior Alyssa Elliott of Madison Edgewood lead the seven-member Wisconsin Golf Coaches Association All-State first team.

Danielson won her fourth consecutive medalist trophy in Division 2, breaking the mark of three individual titles that she had shared with Racine Case's Heather Suhr, who had won the single-class crown from 1996-98.

A University of Wisconsin recruit, Danielson's 1-under-par 143 tied two-time Division 1 champion Carly Werwie of Kenosha Bradford (2004-05) for the second-lowest 36-hole score in state tournament history, three shots behind La Crosse Central's Erin Carney, who set the standard in 1993.

Danielson and Elliott made the WGCA first team for a fourth straight season, while Nicolet senior Tory Bauman and Edgerton junior Alyssa Ferrell were named to the select group for a second consecutive season.

Elliott's 3-over 147 helped the Crusaders claim their eighth title in a row, the last six in D-2, with a record 617 total. Elliott also is scheduled to compete for the Badgers.

Bauman, a University of Denver recruit, won medalist honors in D-1 for a second straight time, while Ferrell finished in the top four at state for a second consecutive time, this past year in D-2 after doing it in D-1 in 2007.

Seniors Alex Lake of Edgewood, Jackie Shepherd of Kettle Moraine and Erin Sharpee of Green Bay Notre Dame rounded out the first unit.

Sharpee finished second to Bauman with a 150, helping the Tritons claim their third straight team title. She and Lake were second-team choices in '07, while Shepherd moved up from the third team.

First team

Lindsay Danielson, 12, Osceola (player of the year)

Tory Bauman, 12, Nicolet

Alyssa Elliott, 12, Madison Edgewood

Alyssa Ferrell, 11, Edgerton

Alex Lake, 12, Madison Edgewood

Erin Sharpee, 12, Green Bay Notre Dame

Jackie Shepherd, 12, Kettle Moraine

Second team

Marion Accola, 12, Waukesha Catholic Memorial

Kelly Coakley, 12, Brookfield Central

Christina DeBoer, 12, Holmen

Jennifer Konop, 11, Green Bay Notre Dame

April Ohlendorf, 11, Kettle Moraine

Allie Parthie, 12, Marinette

Erika Pfaender, 11, Hartland Arrowhead

Third team

Jennifer Benoy, 12, St. Croix Falls

C.J. Enriquez, 11, Madison Edgewood

Sarah Gradecki, 12, Homestead

Isabella Lambert, 10, Waukesha Catholic Memorial

Meghan Martine, 11, Madison Edgewood

Casi Webb, 12, Eau Claire North

Jordyn Wyzgowski, 11, The Prairie School

Honorable mention

Audrey Ackley, 9, Divine Savior Holy Angels

Erin Barragry, 12, Homestead

Malea Blise, 12, Divine Savior Holy Angels

Katie Brossard, 11, Janesville Parker

Mary Donohue, 12, Portage

Alexandra Douglas, 10, Madison East

Monica Enderlin, 11, Middleton

Brooke Finner, 12, Arcadia

Jami Kessenich, 12, Hartland Arrowhead

Kelly Kleine, 12, Sheboygan North

Lauren Lindsley, 12, Green Bay Preble

Colleen Mares, 12, Appleton Xavier

Tricia Mark, 11, Brookfield Central

Chelsey McCoy, 12, Brookfield Central

Brittany McNett-Emmerich, 10, Madison West

Doyle O'Brien, 11, Madison Edgewood

Angelina Parrinello, 12, Madison East

Ali Plath, 10, Onalaska

McKenna Prestigiacomo, 11, Madison La Follette

Molly Rozeboom, 11, Janesville Parker

Gabriela Ruanova, 11, Green Bay Notre Dame

Paige Schmidt, 12, Waukesha West

Marissa Schlagenhauf, 10, Brookfield Central

A.J. Selig, 10, Appleton West

Ashton Stair, 10, Milton

Erica Timmers, 11, Baldwin-Woodville

Nicole Westcott, 12, Homestead

Sarah Wittmann, 11, Kaukauna

Badger State Preps Top Stories