Trinity Valley Claims SWJCFC Title

ATHENS - Jerrod Evans passed for four touchdowns and rushed for two more as Trinity Valley routed Tyler 73-46 in the Southwest Junior College Football Conference Championship at Bruce Field on Saturday.

Trinity Valley (11-0), ranked third in the NJCAA, scored 28 straight points during an 18-minute span of the second half to break open a 45-30 halftime game.

Evans passed for three touchdowns in the first half as the Cardinals scored 21 points in the first period 24 in the second. Evans’ second scoring pass to Ricardo Barnett at the 9:22 mark of the third period was part of Trinity Valley’s breakout third period.

Tyler (8-3) stayed close for much of the first half, countering Trinity Valley touchdowns with field goals of 25 and 39 yards by Ljundrim Kaba and quarterback Sedarian Copeland’s 1-yard scoring run.

Copeland later had a 5-yard TD run and fired a 6-yard scoring toss to Willie Robinson in the second period. But for the most part, it was all Trinity Valley in the middle periods when the Cardinals outscored Tyler, 42-17.

Evans, who started his second game in place of the injured Kyle Postma, hit Barnett for 32 yards and Jarvis Baxter for 22 yards for scoring passes in the second period. He later added a 31-yard touchdown run as the Cardinals built a 15-point halftime lead.

Tyler committed four turnovers in the game, including three in the third period that led to 14 Trinity Valley points. Luis Lopez dashed 81 yards and Evans hit Barnett from 3 yards and Darrell Breedlove capped the third-period scoring with a 1-yard TD run.

Lopez scored his third touchdown of the game early in the fourth period from 18 yards out.

Tyler made it a bit closer in the waning minutes as Copeland found Melvinson Hartfield from 3 yards for a score and Chaston Bennett rushed for his 24th touchdown of the season with 3:00 remaining.

TVCC 73, Tyler 46

Tyler   13        17        0          16        -        46
TVCC   21        24        21        7          -        73

TVCC: Jerrod Evans 5 run (Jeremy Peralta kick)
TJC: Ljundrim Kaba 39 FG
TVCC: Emmanuel Harris 45 pass from Evans (Peralta kick)
TJC: Kaba 25 FG
TJC: Sedarian Copeland 1 run (Kaba kick)
TVCC: Jarvis Baxter 22 pass from Evans (Peralta kick)

TJC: Willie Robinson 6 pass from Copeland (Kaba kick
TVCC: Barnett 32 pass from Evans (Peralta kick)
TJC: Copeland 5 run (Kaba kick)
TVCC: Luis Lopez 41 run (Peralta kick)
TVCC: Evans 31 run (Peralta kick)
TJC: Kaba 44 FG
TVCC Peralta 42 FG

TVCC: Lopez 81 run (Peralta kick)
TVCC: Barnett 3 pass from Evans (Peralta kick)
TVCC: Darrell Breedlove 1 run (Peralta kick)

TVCC: Lopez 18 run (Peralta kick)
TJC: Melvinson Hartfield 3 pass from Copeland (Copeland run)
TJC: Chaston Bennett 23 run (Copeland to Luper)

JC Football Top Stories