LBCC - 11 All-Mission Conf. American Div. Honors

Sophomore corner back Chris Weingarten was a unanimous selection and leads a list of 11 Long Beach City College Vikings that were selected to the 2003 All-Mission Conference American Division team. All-conference honors were selected at the Mission Conference postseason coaches meeting on Tuesday at LBCC.

Weingarten, a native of St. Petersburg, Fla., led the Vikings with 4 interceptions and had 41.5 tackles on the season. Also capturing first-team honors were freshman offensive lineman Alatini Malu, sophomore outside line backer Wally Fujah, and sophomore defensive end Matt Kimbrough.

Seven Vikings were named to the second-team, including sophomore running back Paul Ier, freshman wide receiver James Wilson, sophomore wide receiver Mike Willis, sophomore offensive lineman Matt Yocam, sophomore outside line backer Josh Brindle, sophomore inside line backer Jonathan Miller, and freshman defensive tackle Shareef Tevaga.

LBCC closed the 2003 season this past Saturday with a 2-8 overall record and finished tied for fifth place in the American Division with a 1-4 record.

A complete list of all Mission Conference postseason selections will be posted online this afternoon at the Mission Conference web site, located at

2003 Long Beach City College All-Mission Conference American Division selections

CB - *Chris Weingarten (5-8, 185, So., Boca Ciega (FL) HS)
OL - Alatini Malu (6-5, 340, Fr., Torrance HS)
OLB - Wally Fujah (5-11, 205, So., North Providence (RI) HS
DE - Matt Kimbrough (6-1, 235, So., Poly HS)

RB - Paul Ier (5-11, 210, So., Millikan HS)
WR - James Wilson (5-11, 185, Fr., Jordan HS)
WR - Mike Willis (6-1, 175, So. Poly HS)
OL - Matt Yocam (6-5, 310, So., Lakewood HS)
OLB - Josh Brindle (6-0, 210, So., St. John Bosco HS)
ILB - Jonathan Miller (6-4, 240, So., Edison HS)
DT - Shareef Tevaga (6-2, 280, Fr., La Mirada HS)

* - Unanimous selection

JC Football Top Stories