5 PRCC Players Named NJCAA AAs.

POPLARVILLE — The Pearl River Community College Wildats will open their 2006 football season August 31 as the NJCAA's No. 1-ranked team, while boasting five preseason NJCAA All-American selections. Sixty-eight other MACJC football standouts were also honored.

Wide receiver Demetrius Byrd headlines the list, as he was named to the NJCAA's second team; while defensive back Gene Anderson, defensive end Brian Keith Coulter, offensive lineman Ken Evans, and linebacker Donte Spires received honorable mention (HM) status.

Sixty-eight other MACJC standouts were named to the preseason All-American list. They include (listed alphabetically by college):

COAHOMA: DB Travis Grandberry (HM), WR Cedric Harris (HM), OL Desmond Hunter (HM), LB Brandon White (HM), QB Semaj Williams (HM).

COPIAH-LINCOLN: LB Michael Bibbs (HM), DT Jesse Bowman (HM), WR Demayne Carroll (HM), PK-P Nic Gunter (HM, offense and defense), RB Aaron Johnson (HM), QB Cedric Johnson (HM).

EAST CENTRAL: LB Ivon Hickmon (HM), WR Ike Knighten (HM), RB David McCants (HM), DE Keith Spann (HM).

EAST MISSISSIPPI: WR Steve Black (HM), TE Marquez Branson (HM), LB Lamarcus Cooper (HM), DE Walter Edmonds (HM), QB Chris Mitchell (HM), DT Marcus Rowe (HM).

HINDS: TE Demarco Ester (second team), DB LaAndren Hicks (first team), QB Omar Love (HM), PK Jess Shelby (HM), P Brent Sutherland (HM), DB Todd Taylor (HM), OL Brent Todd (HM), DE Johnny Wilson (HM).

HOLMES: DE Shane Bailey (HM), DT Jerrod Grace (HM), OL Nick Hedglin (HM), OL Kenny McGhee (HM), LB James Neal (HM), WR LeMarcus Russell (HM).

ITAWAMBA: WR Desmond Jennings (first team), DE Terrance Jones (HM), DL Chris Pickins (second team), OL Cody Stubblefield (HM).

JONES COUNTY: OL William Hinton (HM), DB Ellis Lankster (HM), DT Rashad Rousell (HM), LB Archie Sims (HM).

MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: DB Jason Fairley (HM), DL Dion Gales (second team), TE Glen Nettles (HM), PK Trey Reed (HM), WR CoErick Riley (HM), P Cody Samples (HM), LB Marquino Siler (HM), RB Larry Warner (HM).

NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: DT Brandon Bates (HM), QB Brice Beck (HM), OL Brandon Ciaramitaro (HM), RB Cameron Montgomery (first team), DB Michael Ricks (HM).

NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: DB Fred Aikens (HM), OL R.J. Brisbon (first team), RB Bryan Fitzgerald (HM), OL Terrance Eachols (HM), LB Marcus Johnson (second team), DT Walter Thomas (HM), DT Lamar Veney (HM).

SOUTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: DB Trey Douglas (HM), WR Ed Gant (HM), QB Fred Jones (HM), DT Derell Nichols (HM), OL Theo Stallings (HM).


*JCFootball.com will post player interviews and stories on most of these players / teams in July and August.


JC Football Top Stories