Mississippi All-Star Classic 09

BOONEVILLE, MISS.,-- Northeast Mississippi Community College's Keenum Stadium will host the thirty-sixth annual Mississippi Association of Community/Junior Colleges (MACJC) All-Star Classic football game on Saturday, December 5. The Magnolia State's 14 MACJC schools are slated to participate in the event, which is set for a 1 p.m. kickoff.

PHOTO: Copiah-Lincoln's former quarterback Micah Davis scans the gridiron in the 2008 MACJC All-Star Classic football game at Keenum Stadium on December 6.

Last year, the South all-stars snapped a two-game win streak by the North and were led by Copiah-Lincoln Community College quarterback Micah Davis,  who plunged his way in from two yards out in the first quarter before hitting Hinds Community College's Vernor Wolfe on a 5-yard pass in the third as the South took a 16-14 decision.

With the win, the South snapped the North's streak in the all-star contest and captured its second decision in the last six at Keenum Stadium. The North still holds a 17-16-2 record in the series.

Thirty-three players will make up the North and South sides of the ball with each institution contributing three players and the remainder of the squad selected by the All-Star Classic coaches but no more than eight players from one school will be on a team.

All-Star coaches will come from their respective division's third place teams – unless they coached the previous year's all-star contest.

With only limited time to get athletes ready, defenses are basic with tricks and stunting prohibited.

Athletes will report to the MACJC All-Star Classic headquarters at noon on Thursday, December 3 and immediately hit the field following.

Each squad - North and South - will have three practices before Saturday's game. Thursday players will only practice once while teams double up on Friday.

The MACJC All-Star Classic has been a springboard from community college to the next level of football. Numerous athletes from past all-star classics have gone on to sign scholarships to Football Bowl Subdivision (former the NCAA's Division I) schools.

JC Football Top Stories