Orem opening day roster announced

As the Orem Owlz prepare to open the Pioneer League season on Tuesday, the Angels have announced their opening day roster. The top four selections from last year's draft and eight of this year's picks headline the roster.

The Owlz roster features 17 pitchers to opent the season including the Angels' first pick in the 2005 draft Trevor Bell and third-rounder Sean O'Sullivan, who signed in late May.

"That's the most arms I can remember starting a season with at this level, which is great," said manager Tom Kotchman. "And we have a couple pure relievers, which is a rarity. Usually you get all starters and are forced to convert some of them."

One of those relievers, Aaron Cook, has had a whirlwind month. The righty closer for the NCAA Division II champion University of Tampa, won three games in the College World Series, including the championship game four days before the Angels selected him in the 35th round.

Last season's two second round picks PJ Phillips and Ryan Mount headline the 15 position players on the roster. Phillips led the Arizona League Angels with 24 RBIs on 13 extra-base hits, including six triples in 182 at-bats.

Joining them, and making his U.S. debut, is outfielder Julio Perez who spent the last three years playing in the Dominican Summer League.

The Owlz will look to secure their third straight Pioneer League Championship when they begin their 76-game season at Ogden.

The complete roster includes:

Pitchers: Felipe Arredondo; Trevor Bell; Barret Browning; Bobby Cassevah; PJ Connelly; Aaron Cook; Josh Cowles; Jacob Dixon; Jeremy Hanyes; David Herndon; Blake Holler; Jared Incinelli; Darren O'Day; Anthony Ortega; Sean O'Sullivan; David Pellegrine; and Anthony Sullivan

Catchers: Ricky Bambino; Scott Knazek; and Ivan Villaescusa

Infielders: Tadd Brewer; Gordie Gronkowski; Ryan Mount; Abel Nieves; PJ Phillips; Doug Reinhardt; and Brooks Shankle

Outfielders: Peter Bourjos; Julio Perez; Chris Pettit; Luis Rivera; and Darrell Sales

Inside The Halos Top Stories