Oakland A's MLN: Preliminary Spring Rosters

The spring training game schedule opened on Monday for Oakland A's minor leaguers. Inside are the spring rosters for the four A's full-season affiliates, as of Monday.

The following rosters for the Oakland A's full-season minor league affiliates are extremely preliminary. These rosters will likely change considerably as players are sent down from major league camp. However, the rosters can often be a good predictor of where players will end up on Opening Day.

Generally speaking, players don't move up a level during spring training. They either stay on their current roster or they move down when the players in big league camp are sent down. When a player is sent down from big league camp, it creates a ripple effect through the system. For example, when either Josh Donaldson or Landon Powell wins the back-up catcher role, the other player will be placed on the Sacramento spring roster, which will push one of the current catchers on that roster to a lower level (often, but not always, the next level down). Then that player will push a catcher on that lower level team's roster to a lower level, and so on.

Very rarely is a player promoted to a higher level because until April 1 when the major league season opens there are always players who are set to be sent down to minor league camp. The exception would be if a number of openings were made because of injuries. There are also players who are on a roster that they are likely to continue to be on throughout spring training and into the regular season. For instance, Grant Green and Stephen Parker are both currently on the Double-A roster and that is where they are expected to start the season. The same goes for Michael Choice, who is on the High-A roster. Max Stassi, however, is currently on the Double-A roster, but he is expected to suit up for High-A Stockton on Opening Day.

Below are the rosters as they stood on Monday, March 21.

Triple-A Sacramento
Travis Banwart
Joe Bateman
Fernando Cabrera
Vinnie Chulk
Gabe DeHoyos
Fautino De Los Santos
Willie Eyre
Daniel Farquhar
Graham Godfrey
Carlos Hernandez
Jared Lansford
Jeff Lyman
Trystan Magnuson
Yadel Marti
Guillermo Moscoso
Josh Outman
Mickey Storey
Neil Wagner

Joel Galarraga
Gabriel Ortiz
Petey Paramore
Anthony Recker

Adrian Cardenas
Sean Doolittle
Adam Heether
Josh Horton
Steven Tolleson
Jemile Weeks

Jai Miller
Jermaine Mitchell
Shane Peterson
Matt Sulentic
Michael Taylor

Double-A Midland
Trey Barham
Anthony Capra
Gary Daley
Scott Deal
Jose Guzman
Shawn Haviland
Scott Hodsdon
Ethan Hollingsworth
Ben Hornbeck
Josh Lansford
Justin Murray
Jonathan Ortiz
Lance Sewell
Murphy Smith
Paul Smyth
Fabian Williamson

Yusuf Carter
Max Stassi
Dusty Napoleon

Jason Christian
Dusty Coleman
Grant Green
Tyler Ladendorf
Stephen Parker
Michael Spina

Jeremy Barfield
Rashun Dixon
Toddric Johnson
David Thomas
Kent Walton

High-A Stockton
Jeiler Castillo
Ryan Doolittle
Robert Gilliam
A.J. Griffin
Michael Hart
Connor Hoehn
Brett Hunter
A.J. Huttenlocker
Jonathan Joseph
Nathan Long
Chris Mederos
Max Peterson
Ryan Quigley
Bo Schultz
Kenneth Smalley
Daniel Straily

Jonathan Johnston
Ryan Lipkin
Juan Nunez
Ryan Ortiz

Anthony Aliotti
Conner Crumbliss
Michael Gilmartin
Leonardo Gil
Michael Fabiaschi
Nino Leyja

Myrio Richard
Jose Crisotomo
Jose Rivero
Tyreace House
Mitchell LeVier
Michael Choice

Low-A Burlington
Josh Bowman
Jake Brown
Logan Chitwood
Seth Frankoff
Blake Hassebrock
Ryan Hughes
Mathieu LeBlanc-Poirer
J.C. Menna
Sean Murphy
Daniel Tenholder
Zach Thorton
Drew Tyson
Jeff Urlaub
Tyler Vail

Chris Affinito
Diomedes Lopez
John Nester
Daniel Petitti

A.J. Kirby-Jones
Ryan Pineda
Chad Lewis
Yordy Cabrera
Zhi Fang Pan
Wade Kirkland Wilfredo Solano
Tony Thompson

Royce Consigli
Jeff Bercume
Aaron Shipman
Josh Whitaker
Jordan Tripp
Douglas Landaeta

In Camp, But Not Currently Playing In Games
Andrew Carignan
Pedro Figueroa
John Meloan
Justin Souza
Arnold Leon
Julio Ramos
Michael Ynoa
Ian Krol
Jonathan Hunton
Daniel Thomas

Oakland Clubhouse Top Stories