Oakland A's MLN: Extended Spring Rosters

The Oakland A's extended spring training camp is underway. We have the complete rosters, as well as news from around the A's organization from Monday, April 7.

Melissa Lockard contributed to this report.

Extended Spring Training Roster

Spring training part two has begun at Papago Park. Forty-two players are participating in the A's extended spring camp, while another 10 players are rehabbing injuries as part of the program.

The coaching staffs for the A's two US short-season teams are coaching the players at extended, as well as pitching coaches Garvin Alston and Bob Welch. Games began today. Many of the players participating in extended will make their regular season debuts during the Arizona Rookie League or New York-Penn League seasons. Others will join full-season affiliates over the next few months.

Below are the players participating in the camp.

Pitchers
Hunter Adkins
Kayvon Bahramzadeh
A.J. Burke
Fernando Cruzado
Dustin Driver
Jerad Grundy
Tyler Hollstegge
Chris Kohler
Cody Kurz
Jon Massad
Blake McMullen
Junior Mendez
Joe Michaud
Carlos Navas
Alex Nolasco
Jensi Peralta
Cristhian Perez
Travis Pitcher
Jose Torres
Dominique Vattuone
Jesus Zambrano

Catchers
Iolana Akau
Seong-Min Kim
Josh Miller
Kyle Wheeler

Infielders
Luis Baez
Joe Bennie
Edwin Diaz
A.J. Kubala
Robert Martinez
Yairo Munoz
Argenis Raga
Gabriel Santana
Chris Wolfe

Outfielders
Vicmal De La Cruz
Shawn Duinkerk
Justin Higley
Matt Hillsinger
Jesus Lopez
Scott Masik
Ben McQuown
Jonesy Zarraga

Rehab List
Pitchers
Derek DeYoung (out for the season – Tommy John surgery)
Dakota Freese
Tyler Johnson
Dillon Overton
Tyler Vail

Catchers
Luke Montz
Nick Rickles

Infielders
Darwin Perez
Addison Russell

Outfielders
Dayton Alexander
Brett Vertigan

Extended Spring Training Game Schedule

Note: all A's home games take place at Papago Park. Games are free of charge. There are no games or practices on Sundays and Thursdays are camp days (practice in the morning but no games).

Mon., April 7 vs. Colorado
Tues., April 8 @ Arizona
Wed., April 9 @ San Francisco
Thurs., April 10 Camp day
Fri., April 11 vs. Chicago (NL)
Sat., April 12 vs. San Francisco
Mon., April 14 @ Colorado
Tues., April 15 vs. LA Angels
Wed., April 16 vs. Arizona
Thurs., April 17 Camp day
Fri., April 18 @ Arizona
Sat., April 19 @ San Francisco
Mon., April 21 @ Milwaukee
Tues., April 22 vs. Chicago (NL)
Wed., April 23 Camp day
Thurs., April 24 Camp day
Fri., April 25 vs. San Francisco
Sat., April 26 vs. LA Angels
Mon., April 28 @ Colorado
Tues., April 29 @ Chicago (NL)
Wed., April 30 vs. San Francisco
Thurs., May 1 Camp day
Fri., May 2 @ LA Angels
Sat., May 3 vs. Arizona
Mon., May 5 vs. LA Angels
Tues., May 6 @ Chicago (NL)
Wed., May 7 vs. Arizona
Thurs., May 8 Camp day
Fri., May 9 @ San Francisco
Sat., May 10 @ Arizona
Mon., May 12 vs. Milwaukee
Tues., May 13 @ Colorado
Wed., May 14 Camp day
Thurs., May 15 Camp day
Fri., May 16 @ Milwaukee
Sat., May 17 vs. San Francisco
Mon., May 19 @ LA Angels
Tues., May 20 vs. Chicago (NL)
Wed., May 21 vs. Colorado
Thurs., May 22 Camp day
Fri., May 23 @ San Francisco
Sat., May 24 vs. LA Angels
Mon., May 26 @ Arizona
Tues., May 27 @ Colorado
Wed., May 28 vs. Chicago (NL)
Thurs., May 29 Camp day
Fri., May 30 @ LA Angels
Sat., May 31 vs. Colorado
Mon., June 2 vs. Milwaukee
Tues., June 3 @ LA Angels
Wed., June 4 vs. Chicago (NL)
Thurs., June 5 Camp day
Fri., June 6 @ Colorado


System Notes

- OF Josh Whitaker had a game to remember in Midland's 8-7 win on Monday night. He went 2-for-3 with a walk, a double and his first homerun of the season, but he saved his best work for the final play of the game. With Midland leading 8-6 with two-outs in the bottom of the ninth, the Northwest Arkansas Naturals looked poised to tie the game. Mark Threlkeld singled with runners on second and third. The first runner scored, but Whitaker threw a bullet from right field to prevent the tying run from scoring. Jesus Castillo earned the save. Chris Jensen allowed two earned runs (five overall) in six innings in his Midland debut. The RockHounds committed six errors in the game. Max Muncy, Dusty Coleman and Whitaker each had two hits.

- It has already been a busy year on the transaction wire for the RockHounds. The latest move involved their catchers. Ryan Lipkin was placed on the disabled list and Jose Chavez was added to the roster from extended spring training. Chavez spent the past two seasons in the Dominican Summer League.

- Seth Streich, Tucker Healy and Nolan Sanburn combined to limit the Bakersfield Blaze to two hits in their 4-1 win on Monday. It was the Blaze's first loss of the season. Streich allowed one run on one hit and two walks in five innings. Healy worked a perfect two innings and Sanburn earned the save with two innings of shutout relief. Chad Pinder, Dusty Robinson and Bruce Maxwell each went deep. Daniel Robertson had two more hits and he is batting .450. Aaron Shipman also had two hits and he added a walk and a stolen base.

- The Sacramento River Cats dropped a back-and-forth affair to the Las Vegas 51's on Monday. Matt den Dekker singled in the winning run off of Eric Berger in the 7-6 51's win. Rehabbing A's OF Craig Gentry had four RBI and three hits. Jose Martinez reached base three times, while Kent Matthes and Jake Goebbert each had two hits. Josh Lindblom allowed six runs in 4.1 innings in his first start of the year for Sacramento. Deryk Hooker began the bottom of the ninth and he was hung with the loss.


Oakland Clubhouse Top Stories