Midland Earns Texas League Title

After Friday night's extra-inning loss, the Midland RockHounds had their backs up against the wall. They came through with two straight wins to take the 2014 Texas League title.

On Saturday, the Midland RockHounds staved off elimination with a 9-4 win over the Tulsa Drillers. On Sunday, the RockHounds won the Texas League championship with a 5-0 win. Nate Long was once again brilliant, earning his second win of the series, and Dusty Coleman had the big blow to start the scoring, a two-run homer in the second inning.

Long allowed just a run on three hits in eight innings of work in winning Game One of the series. On Sunday, he tossed 5.2 scoreless innings to earn the win. He scattered six hits and a walk and he struck-out five.

The Midland bullpen completed the shut-out. Marcus Walden threw 1.1 innings of scoreless relief. Ryan Dull took over in the eighth and allowed two hits, but Frank Gailey came on and stranded both runners to keep the game at 5-0. Jose Flores struck-out two in a scoreless ninth to secure the win.

Coleman's second-inning blast gave the RockHounds an early cushion. Conner Crumbliss added to that cushion with a solo homer in the fifth. In the sixth, Midland scored twice - once on a Jeremy Barfield double and again on a two-out RBI single by Matt Chapman.

Barfield collected two hits in what could be his final game in the A's organization. Barfield, Coleman, Shawn Haviland and Ryan Doolittle, members of the A's organization since being drafted by the club in 2008, can all be free agents after this season.

This is the RockHounds first Texas League title since 2009. It is the first league title for RockHounds' manager Aaron Nieckula. The RockHounds won the league title and 77 regular season games despite seeing several key members of their Opening Day roster miss significant portions of the season with injuries.

Oakland Clubhouse Top Stories