Kyle Terada / USA TODAY Sports Images

Oakland A's promote Billy Beane, David Forst; Josh Reddick named Hank Aaron finalist

As expected the Oakland A's promoted front office executives Billy Beane and David Forst on the first day of their off-season. In other A's news, Josh Reddick was named a finalist for the Hank Aaron award.

The Oakland A's off-season began with news of the promotions of front office executives Billy Beane and David Forst. Beane, the A's longtime General Manager, is now the team's Executive Vice President. Forst, the A's assistant General Manager for the past 12 years, takes over as the A's General Manager. Susan Slusser of the San Francisco Chronicle first reported that these promotions were likely back in August.

Beane served as the A's General Manager from 1998 until this season. During his tenure, he led the A's to the post-season eight times. The A's reached the American League Championship Series once (2006) during Beane's reign. The A's also famously won a league-record 20 straight games in 2002 under Beane's watch. He is expected to remain involved in the A's player personnel decision-making.

Forst has been with the organization for 16 years and has taken increasing responsibility over the day-to-day operations over the past several years. The A's are the latest team to go with the two-executive format for leading their front office. Former A's assistant General Manager Farhan Zaidi joined the Los Angeles Dodgers' last off-season as the team's General Manager, working under Team President Andrew Friedman. The Boston Red Sox and Chicago Cubs are two other teams that have moved to the two-executive front office leadership format.

Reddick Named Hank Aaron Finalist

Outfielder Josh Reddick was named the A's 2015 Hank Aaron award nominee for the American League's top offensive player.

Reddick hit .272/.333/.449 with 20 homers for the A's this season. Reddick struck-out just 65 times while walking 49 times in 526 at-bats. He also drove-in 77 runs and swiped 10 bases in 12 chances.

Fans will vote for the Hank Aaron award winner on A panel of Hall of Fame players will also contribute to the vote. The voting will last through October 11.

Oakland Clubhouse Top Stories