A's Announce MiLB Coaching Staffs For 2010

The Oakland A's officially announced their 2010 minor league coaching staffs on Wednesday. The staffs will remain virtually the same in 2010 as they were in 2009, with the exception of the managerial spots in Kane County and Stockton. Details inside...

The Oakland A's have named their 2010 minor league coaching staffs. All of the coaches remain the same as they were in 2009, with the exception of the managerial spots in Kane County and Stockton. 2009 Kane County manager Steve Scarsone will serve as the manager of the Stockton Ports and 2009 Ports manager Aaron Nieckula will return to Kane County as manager for the Cougars. Nieckula managed Kane County in 2007 and 2008 before moving to Stockton in 2009. Nathan Brooks has been named the trainer for the Ports, while Brian "Doc" Thorson will act as a trainer for the Cougars.

In 2009, the A's had three affiliates make the post-season: Sacramento, Midland and Kane County. Midland won a league championship, while Sacramento made it to the league finals. Sacramento manager Tony DeFrancesco earned his 1,000th win as a minor league manager in 2009, and Midland skipper Darren Bush captured his second consecutive league title.

The A's minor league coaching staffs are led by A's Director of Player Development Keith Lieppman, who earned the 2009 Chief Bender Award from Minor League Baseball.

The A's coaching staffs are as follows:

Triple-A Sacramento: Tony DeFrancesco, manager; Rick Rodriguez, pitching coach; Brian McArn, hitting coach; Brad LaRosa, trainer.

Double-A Midland: Darren Bush, manager; Scott Emerson, pitching coach; Webster Garrison, hitting coach; Justin Whitehouse, trainer.

High-A Stockton: Steve Scarsone, manager; Don Schulze, pitching coach; Tim Garland, hitting coach; Nathan Brooks, trainer.

Low-A Kane County: Aaron Nieckula, manager; Jimmy Escalante, pitching coach; Haas Pratt, hitting coach; Brian Thorson, trainer.

Short-Season Vancouver: Rick Magnante, manager; Craig Lefferts, pitching coach; Casey Myers, hitting coach; Travis Tims, trainer.

Rookie League Arizona: Marcus Jensen, manager; Ariel Prieto, pitching coach; Juan Dilone, hitting coach; Chris Lessner, trainer.

Roving Instructors: Greg Sparks (hitting); Gil Patterson (pitching); Juan Navarette (infield); Ron Plaza.

Oakland Clubhouse Top Stories