Jones Wins Gold Glove, Again.

For years Andruw Jones has awarded Braves fans with breathtaking assists and acrobatic catches while solidly manning centerfield for the Atlanta Braves.

Now, he's getting awarded - again, capturing his 7th straight centerfield Gold Glove award, sponsored by Rawlings.

Jones first won the Award in 1998, his second full major league season, and has won the next seven seasons consecutively since then.

The Rawlings Gold Glove award is awarded annually to the best defensive player at each position. The criteria behind Gold Glove awards has been brought into question in recent years when players whose defensive abilities are relatively meager have won the award based simply on their error totals (or lack thereof).

Other notables: Former Greg Maddux took his 14th overall Gold Glove. His consecutive streak was snapped last year by Braves lefty Mike Hampton.

The other national league winners:
C - Matheny
1B - Helton
2B - Castillo
SS - Izturis
3B - Rolen
OF - Jones
OF - Edmonds
OF - Finley
P - Maddux

Atlanta Dugout Top Stories