Carpenter, Miller Named Cards' Minors Best

Matt Carpenter and Shelby Miller are the St. Louis Cardinals minor league system's 2010 Player and Pitcher of the Year.

On Friday, the St. Louis Cardinals announced the club's selections for 2010 Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year honors, tabbing right-handed pitcher Shelby Miller (1st round, 2009) and third baseman Matt Carpenter (13th round, 2009).

"Both Matt and Shelby are very deserving of their awards," said Cardinals Farm Director John Vuch. "Their statistics and on-field success are obvious and played a major role in their selection, but equally important was their work ethic and aptitude, which enabled them to continue to improve as the season progressed. Their awards reflect the combination of their talent and their determination to maximize that talent. We're very excited to watch both of them continue to progress in their careers."

Shelby Miller
Miller, who turned 20 in October, made 24 starts for Class-A Quad Cities, posting a 7-5 record with a 3.62 ERA and 140 strikeouts in 104.1 innings pitched. Miller's 140 strikeouts ranked 4th in the Midwest League and 2nd among Cardinals minor league pitchers. His 12.1 strikeouts per nine innings pitched ratio was tops among all Cardinals pitchers.

The 19th overall selection in the 2009 draft out of Brownwood (TX) High School, Miller was recognized as the Cardinals No. 1 prospect by Baseball America entering the season and was selected to the United States team in the 2010 Futures Game at Angels Stadium of Anaheim throwing 0.2 scoreless innings, allowing one hit.

Miller was honored as the Cardinals Minor League Pitcher of the Month for July posting a 3-1 record in five starts with a 1.80 ERA through 25.0 IP with 34 SO. Miller's best outing of the season came in the first round of the Midwest League playoffs when he struck out a career-high 13 batters over seven scoreless innings of two-hit ball in a 4-0 win at Kane County on September 8th.

Carpenter, 24, began the season playing 28 games at high-A Palm Beach before getting promoted to Springfield (AA) on May 10th, finishing the season with 105 games in the Texas League.

The 399th overall pick in the 2009 draft out of Texas Christian University batted .309 with 13 home runs and 69 RBI between Palm Beach and Springfield. He ranked fourth among Texas League batters with a .316 average, third in on-base percentage (.412) and fifth in runs scored (75). Carpenter was named Texas League Player of the Week twice (the weeks ending July 19th and August 2nd) and was selected to the North Squad for the Texas League All-Star game.

Carpenter led all Cardinals minor leaguers with 153 hits and 93 runs, while ranking fourth in batting, second in walks (90), fifth in doubles (31) and T-10th in home runs. Carpenter tallied 40 multi-hit games and batted .334 with 52 RBI with runners in scoring position.

A complete listing of the Cardinals' Organizational Player and Pitcher of the Year Award selections since 1995 follows:

YR Player of the Year TEAM (s)
1995 Mike Gulan, 3B Louisville/Arkansas
1996 Dmitri Young, INF Louisville
1997 Brent Butler, INF Peoria
1998 Pablo Ozuna, INF Peoria
1999 Adam Kennedy, INF Memphis
2000 Albert Pujols, 3B Peoria/Potomac
2001 Covelli Crisp, OF Potomac
2002 John Gall, 1B New Haven
2003 John Gall, 1B Tennessee/Memphis
2004 Reid Gorecki, OF Palm Beach/Tenn.
2005 Travis Hanson, 3B Springfield
2006 Colby Rasmus, OF Quad Cities/PB
2007 Colby Rasmus, OF Springfield
2008 Daryl Jones, OF Palm Beach/Sprfld
2009 Allen Craig, OF/IF Memphis
2010 Matt Carpenter, 3B Palm Beach/Sprfld
YR Pitcher of the Year TEAM (s)
1995 Mike Busby, RHP Louisville/Arkansas
1996 Britt Reames, RHP Peoria
1997 Cliff Politte, RHP Prince William/Ark.
1998 Rick Ankiel, LHP Peoria/Prince William
1999 Rick Ankiel, LHP Arkansas/Memphis
2000 Bud Smith, LHP Arkansas/Memphis
2001 Jimmy Journell, RHP Potomac/New Haven
2002 Tyler Johnson, LHP Peoria
2003 Dan Haren, RHP Tennessee/Memphis
2004 Anthony Reyes, RHP Palm Beach/Tenn.
2005 Mark Worrell, RHP Palm Beach
2006 Blake Hawksworth, RHP  P. Beach/Sprfld
2007 P.J. Walters, RHP Quad Cities/PB/Spfld
2008 Jess Todd, RHP PB/Spfld/Memphis
2009 Lance Lynn, RHP PB/Spfld/Memphis
2010 Shelby Miller, RHP Quad Cities

Note: Click here to see the entire roster of The Cardinal Nation/ system-wide reliever, starter and position player award winners and by level for 2010.

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories