Celebrating Johnson City's 2010 Championship

Players and coaches from the Cardinals 2010 Appalachian League championship team were recognized on the Roger Dean Stadium field in Jupiter, Fla. on Friday.

Prior to the St. Louis Cardinals game on Friday afternoon against the Detroit Tigers, the organization celebrated something that last occurred 35 years prior – an Appalachian League title by the Cardinals.

Since the championship was achieved on the field, it seemed most fitting to recognize its key participants on the field as well. In this case, it was in front of a packed house of spring training fans at Jupiter, Florida's Roger Dean Stadium.

Manager Mike Shildt, pitching coach Doug White and hitting coach Ramon Ortiz, all returning for 2011, led their group of charges forward for congratulations and the receipt of their championship rings. The club's trainer, keeping these young men healthy and ready to play, was Mike Petrarca.

All in all, 39 players - 20 position players and 19 pitchers - appeared in regular-season game action for the 2010 Johnson City team. The oldest was not born until more than a decade had already passed following the club's last championship, in 1976.

Almost all of the members of the 2010 roster were present for Friday's ring ceremony, presided over by Senior Vice President and General Manager John Mozeliak and Farm Director John Vuch. The table below lists all 39 players that saw action ordered by at-bats and innings pitched.

2010 Johnson City Cardinals

Position Players Pitchers
Greg Garcia Cale Johnson
Romulo Ruiz Boone Whiting
Oscar Taveras Ryan Copeland
Cody Stanley Angel De Jesus
Cesar Valera Hector Hernandez
Kleininger Teran Pat Daugherty
Roberto Reyes Jeff Nadeau
Virgil Hill Charllan Jimenez
Packy Elkins Kevin Siegrist
Reggie Williams Trevor Rosenthal
Phil Cerreto Hector Corpas
Travis Tartamella Drew Benes
Chris Edmondson Bob Revesz
David Medina Francisco Guzman
Juan Castillo Aidan Lucas
Colin Walsh Chris Patterson
Steven Ramos Iden Nazario
Roberto De La Cruz Tyrell Jenkins
Starlin Rodriguez Dean Kiekhefer
Anthony Garcia

Four players had been recognized as Appalachian League All-Stars. They include pitcher Hector Corpas, catcher Cody Stanley and outfielder Oscar Taveras. In addition, pitcher Ryan Copeland was named the league's Pitcher of the Year. Shildt also took home the Appy League's top manager award.

Premium Hot News Exclusive for The Cardinal Nation subscribers: Shildt discusses what this team meant to him as the manager and how it came together as a champion.


Ring ceremony photos

Vuch and the coaches lead the players onto the field

The players wait in the dugout to be called forward

White, Shildt, Mozeliak, Vuch and Ortiz

Boone Whiting and Reggie Williams receive their rings

The 2010 Johnson City Cardinals (left view)

The 2010 Johnson City Cardinals (right view)

Brian Walton can be reached via email at brian@thecardinalnationblog.com. Also catch his Cardinals commentary daily at The Cardinal Nation blog. Follow Brian on Twitter.

© 2011 stlcardinals.scout.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories