Wong, Petrick named top Cards minor leaguers

The St. Louis Cardinals organization named Memphis second baseman Kolten Wong and Springfield right-hander Zach Petrick their top player and pitcher in the system for 2013.

On Wednesday, the St. Louis Cardinals announced their 2013 Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year, awarding second baseman Kolten Wong with Player of the Year honors and right-handed pitcher Zach Petrick as the organization's Pitcher of the Year.

Wong, 23, played his entire minor league season at Triple-A Memphis before being purchased by St. Louis on August 16, and remained in the Major Leagues through the World Series.

The left-handed hitting Wong was the Cardinals first round pick (22nd overall) from the University of Hawaii in the 2011 June, First-Year Player Draft. He played in Quad Cities (Low-A) in 2011 and Springfield (AA) in 2012.

Wong batted .303 with 10 home runs and 45 RBI over 107 games in Memphis. He also ranked third among Cardinals minor leaguers with 20 stolen bases in 21 attempts and ran off a 20-game hitting streak in May batting .429 (30-for-70) during the streak with 10 multi-hit games. Wong appeared in 32 games in St. Louis, starting 18, while turning in a flawless fielding percentage in 65 total chances.

"Kolten's strong Triple-A performance led to his late season call up to the major leagues," said Cardinals Director of Player Development Gary LaRocque. "His consistency everyday stands out. Offensively he again showed his bat was capable at the next level, handling Triple-A pitching well and bringing speed and defense to the lineup. It was another solid season for Kolten that earned him our Minor League Player of the Year for 2013."

Petrick, 24, was a non-drafted free agent from the University of Northwestern Ohio signed in 2012.

The right-hander compiled a 7-3 record with a 1.99 ERA and eight saves covering 34 appearances and 13 starts, beginning at Peoria (Low-A), on to Palm Beach (High-A) and finishing the season in Springfield (AA). He posted brilliant earned run averages for both Peoria (0.83) and Palm Beach (0.27).

"Zach moved through Peoria and Palm Beach quickly, making the jump to a starting role at Springfield and showing production at all three levels," said LaRocque. "He earned the starting role after strong relief work in the Midwest League followed by an outstanding performance in the Florida State League. Once in Double-A, after nine starts, he established himself for the season as our Minor League Pitcher of the year for 2013."

For more

Earlier this fall, The Cardinal Nation bestowed its annual Starting Pitcher and Player of the Year Awards for 2013 on Petrick and Wong. In addition, lefty Lee Stoppelman was named our Relief Pitcher of the Year.

To read about these awards in depth, as well as top rookies, the Manager of the Year and much more, check out this page.

Prior year's winners

The following are the Cardinals organization's top players and pitchers since 1995.

Yr Player Teams
1995 Mike Gulan, 3B Louisville/Arkansas
1996 Dmitri Young, INF Louisville
1997 Brent Butler, INF Peoria
1998 Pablo Ozuna, INF Peoria
1999 Adam Kennedy, INF Memphis
2000 Albert Pujols, 3B Peoria/Potomac
2001 Covelli Crisp, OF Potomac
2002 John Gall, 1B New Haven
2003 John Gall, 1B Tennessee/Memphis
2004 Reid Gorecki, OF Palm Beach/Tenn.
2005 Travis Hanson, 3B Springfield
2006 Colby Rasmus, OF Quad Cities/PB
2007 Colby Rasmus, OF Springfield
2008 Daryl Jones, OF Palm Beach/Sprfld
2009 Allen Craig, OF/IF Memphis
2010 Matt Carpenter, 3B Palm Beach/Sprngfld
2011 Matt Adams, 1B Springfield
2012 Oscar Taveras, OF Springfield
2013 Kolten Wong, 2B Memphis
Yr Pitcher Teams
1995 Mike Busby, RHP Louisville/Arkansas
1996 Britt Reames, RHP Peoria
1997 Cliff Politte, RHP Prince William/Ark.
1998 Rick Ankiel, LHP Peoria/Prince William
1999 Rick Ankiel, LHP Arkansas/Memphis
2000 Bud Smith, LHP Arkansas/Memphis
2001 Jimmy Journell, RHP Potomac/New Haven
2002 Tyler Johnson, LHP Peoria
2003 Dan Haren, RHP Tennessee/Memphis
2004 Anthony Reyes, RHP Palm Beach/Tenn.
2005 Mark Worrell, RHP Palm Beach
2006 Blake Hawksworth, RHP Palm Beach/Sprngfld
2007 P.J. Walters, RHP Quad Cities/PB/Spfld
2008 Jess Todd, RHP PB/Spfld/Memphis
2009 Lance Lynn, RHP PB/Spfld/Memphis
2010 Shelby Miller, RHP Quad Cities
2011 Shelby Miller, RHP Palm Beach/Sprngfld
2012 Seth Maness, RHP Palm Beach/Sprngfld
2013 Zach Petrick, RHP Peoria/PB/Springfield

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories