Cardinals 2015 Hall of Fame Fan Voting Opens

On Monday, the St. Louis Cardinals opened fan voting on their 2015 Hall of Fame ballot of candidates.

On Monday, March 9, the St. Louis Cardinals officially opened the on-line fan voting process to select the two “Modern Era” players to be inducted into the team’s Hall of Fame for 2015.

Now in its second year of existence, the Cardinals Hall of Fame is designed to recognize the greatest players in the club's history for their achievements and impact on the organization.

The 2015 “Modern Era” candidates, selected by a Red Ribbon Committee of Cardinals experts and announced on January 17, include eight individuals, all of whom finished their careers in the last 40 years.

The nominees are catcher Ted Simmons, C/1B/3B Joe Torre, pitcher Bob Forsch, first baseman Mark McGwire, pitcher Matt Morris, first baseman Keith Hernandez, shortstop Edgar Renteria and pitcher Steve Carlton. The latter two are new to the ballot for 2015, replacing last year’s inductees, Willie McGee and Jim Edmonds.

Voting is being conducted online at through April 20. While there, you can read about each candidate as well as view video clips of some of their most notable playing feats.

Two others to be inducted

The 2015 Cardinals Hall of Fame Class will consist of as many as four individuals. In addition to nominating the “Modern Era” candidates mentioned above, the “Red Ribbon” committee also voted in one individual from the “Veteran Era” category – those having completed their careers more than 40 years ago.

10 very strong candidates from St. Louis’ rich baseball history were considered. They are first basemen Orlando Cepeda and Bill White, catcher Walker Cooper, third basemen Whitey Kurowski and Pepper Martin and outfielders Curt Flood and Terry Moore. Pitchers voted upon are Harry Brecheen, Mort Cooper and Bill Doak.

The final annual inductee may be an important figure from team history, such as a coach, broadcaster or member of the front office. This selection will be made at the club’s discretion and would be the fourth member of the Cardinals Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

What is next

These two final selections - the “Veteran Era” and the ownership selection - will be announced along with the two fan-voted “Modern Era” inductees in a ceremony at Busch Stadium preceding the afternoon game against the Philadelphia Phillies on Thursday, April 30. The induction ceremony will follow on August 15, a Saturday contest against the Miami Marlins.

Each honoree will be permanently enshrined in the Cardinals Hall of Fame gallery outside the Cardinals Museum on the second floor of Ballpark Village across from Busch Stadium. They will join the initial group of 22 Hall of Famers as well as the four 2014 inductees – Edmonds and McGee (Modern Era), Marty Marion (Veteran Era) and Mike Shannon (ownership selection). Access to the Hall of Fame gallery is free.

In the meantime, cast your ballots at


The Nominees

Steve Carlton - STL Career: 77-62, 3.10 ERA, 1.28 WHIP
Three-time All-Star in seven seasons with Cards; 66 complete games; 20-game winner in '71; 2nd in NL with 2.17 ERA in '69.

Bob Forsch - STL Career: 163-127, 3.67 ERA, 1079 K's
Played 15 seasons with St. Louis; ranks third in franchise history with 163 wins; only player in team history with two no-hitters.

Keith Hernandez - STL Career: .299 AVG, 265 2B, 662 R
NL co-MVP in 1979 with a .344 average; member of 1982 World Series champions; five-time Gold Glove winner; two-time All-Star.


Mark McGwire - STL Career: 220 HR, 473 RBIs, 1.111 OPS
Broke Roger Maris' single-season home run record with 70 in 1998; led NL in homers in '98 and '99, with 147 RBIs in each year.

Matt Morris - STL Career: 101-62, 3.61 ERA, 986 K's
Pitched for Cardinals from 1997-2005, participating in postseason five times; led NL with 22 wins in 2001; two-time All-Star.

Edgar Renteria - STL Career: .290 AVG, 71 HR, 148 SB
Three-time All-Star in six years with Cards; two-time Gold Glove shortstop; helped club to NL pennant in 2004; three-time Silver Slugger.


Ted Simmons - STL Career: .298 AVG, 172 HR, 929 RBIs
Six-time All-Star over 13 seasons in St. Louis; set NL record with 188 hits as a catcher in 1975; led the Cardinals in RBIs each year from 1972-78.

Joe Torre - STL Career: .308 AVG, 558 RBIs, 161 2B
Played catcher, first and third from 1969-74; earned NL MVP honors in 1971 after leading the NL with a .363 batting average, 230 hits and 137 RBIs.

Cardinals Hall of Fame Members
Jim Bottomley, Ken Boyer, Lou Brock, Jack Buck, August A. “Gussie” Busch Jr., Dizzy Dean, Jim Edmonds, Frank Frisch, Bob Gibson, Chick Hafey, Jesse Haines, Whitey Herzog, Rogers Hornsby, Tony La Russa, Marty Marion, Willie McGee, Joe Medwick, Johnny Mize, Stan Musial, Branch Rickey, Red Schoendienst, Mike Shannon, Enos Slaughter, Ozzie Smith, Billy Southworth and Bruce Sutter.

Cardinals Hall of Fame Red Ribbon Panel
Tom Ackerman, Frank Cusumano, Derrick Goold, Whitey Herzog, Rick Hummel, Randy Karraker, Martin Kilcoyne, Jenifer Langosch, Tony La Russa, Bernie Miklasz, Joe Ostermeier, Rob Rains, Red Schoendienst, Joe Strauss and Brian Walton.

Join the Hall of Fame discussion with other Cardinals fans here

Not yet a member of The Cardinal Nation? Join today for as little as $7.95 after our seven-day free trial and be able to read all of our exclusive content year-round.

Brian Walton can be reached via email at Also catch his Cardinals commentary daily at The Cardinal Nation blog. Follow Brian on Twitter.

© 2015 The Cardinal Nation, and All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories