Roger Dean Stadium

The St. Louis Cardinals will play 32 Grapefruit League games in the spring of 2017, starting on February 25.

The St. Louis Cardinals will play 32 Grapefruit League games in the spring of 2017, starting on February 25.

St. Louis Cardinals press release

The St. Louis Cardinals announced their 2017 Spring Training schedule today (Thursday).  The team’s 32-game Grapefruit League slate begins on Saturday, February 25, at Roger Dean Stadium in Jupiter, Fla., as visitors against the Miami Marlins, and concludes on Wednesday, March 29 against the Washington Nationals.

The Cardinals play two exhibitions following their Grapefruit League schedule; at Memphis on March 30 and at Springfield on March 31, before opening the regular season at home for the first time since 2011, on Monday, April 3, when hosting the defending World Champion Chicago Cubs at Busch Stadium.

This coming spring marks the 20th year that the Cardinals will train in Jupiter, Fla., at Roger Dean Stadium.  Cardinals’ pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report to Jupiter on February 14 and Cardinals’ position players are scheduled to report February 17.

The Cardinals’ Grapefruit League schedule features 16 home dates and 16 road games including three games as the “visiting” team against the Marlins (Feb. 25, Mar. 12 & 25), giving them 19 total games at Roger Dean Stadium.  The Cardinals and Marlins will play a total of seven games this spring.

The Cardinals host six different Grapefruit League opponents including seven games against 2016 postseason teams.  With the Washington Nationals and Houston Astros moving into Palm Beach County, the Cardinals will play 27 of their 32 games within an hour of Roger Dean Stadium including three against the Wild Card qualifying New York Mets in Port St. Lucie. 

The five road trips beyond an hour’s drive include two trips to Disney’s Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando to play the Atlanta Braves (Feb. 28 & March 19) and three trips to Fort Myers to play the American League East Division Champion Boston Red Sox (Feb. 27) and Minnesota Twins (March 6 & 15).

The Cardinals most frequent opponent is the National League East Champion Nationals, who they will play a total of eight times, hosting five of these meetings (Feb. 27, March 4, 8, 22 & 29).   The Astros will visit Roger Dean Stadium twice (March 9 and 13) as will the Braves (March 2 & 11) and Mets (March 1 & 18).

All Cardinals home games at Roger Dean Stadium are scheduled to start at 1:05 p.m. ET.

Individual spring training tickets for games in Jupiter will go on sale Saturday, January 7, at 10 a.m. ET.  Fans may purchase Cardinals spring training tickets in person at Roger Dean Stadium’s Box Office beginning at 9 a.m. ET that Saturday online at www.cardinals.com or www.rogerdeanstadium.com beginning at 10 a.m. ET.  Spring Training full season tickets, 6+ mini-plans and group tickets are on sale now by calling 561-630-1828. 

Cardinals individual spring training tickets are sold in two sections: Reserved Box and Bleachers.  Designated games are listed as Premium, Standard and Value.   Reserved Box tickets are $42 for Premium games, $35 for Standard games and $29 for Value.  Bleachers are $25 for Premium, $20 for Standard and $15 for Value.

Premium Home Games include the New York Mets on March 18, Washington on March 22 and Miami on March 23.

Information regarding 2017 Cardinals Vacations Spring Training travel packages can be found at cardinals.com/vacations.

Day Month Date Opponent Location Time
Saturday February 25 Miami Jupiter** TBA
Sunday February 26 Miami Jupiter 1:05
Monday February 27 Washington Jupiter 1:05
      Boston Ft. Myers TBA
Tuesday February 28 Atlanta Disney TBA
Wednesday March 1 Mets Jupiter 1:05
Thursday March 2 Atlanta Jupiter 1:05
Friday March 3 Washington (ss) WestPalmBeach TBA
Saturday March 4 Washington Jupiter 1:05
Sunday March 5 Mets Pt.St.Lucie TBA
Monday March 6 Minnesota Ft. Myers TBA
Tuesday March 7 Miami Jupiter 1:05
Wednesday March 8 Washington Jupiter 1:05
Thursday March 9 Houston Jupiter 1:05
Friday March 10 Washington WestPalmBeach TBA
Saturday March 11 Atlanta Jupiter 1:05
Sunday March 12 Miami Jupiter** TBA
Monday March 13 Houston Jupiter 1:05
Tuesday March 14 OPEN    
Wednesday March 15 Minnesota Ft. Myers TBA
Thursday March 16 Minnesota Jupiter 1:05
Friday March 17 Mets Pt.St.Lucie TBA
Saturday March 18 Mets Jupiter 1:05
Sunday March 19 Atlanta Disney TBA
Monday March 20 Houston WestPalmBeach TBA
Tuesday March 21 OPEN    
Wednesday March 22 Washington Jupiter 1:05
Thursday March 23 Miami Jupiter 1:05
Friday March 24 Washington (ss) WestPalmBeach TBA
Saturday March 25 Miami Jupiter** TBA
Sunday March 26 Miami Jupiter 1:05
Monday March 27 Houston WestPalmBeach TBA
Tuesday March 28 Mets Pt.St.Lucie TBA
Wednesday March 29 Washington Jupiter 1:05
Thursday March 30 Memphis Memphis 7:05
Friday March 31 Springfield Springfield 5:05

All times are local and subject to change
**Cardinals are road team at Roger Dean Stadium
(ss) designates split squad contest

 

Brian Walton’s take

The next step is waiting for television schedules to be announced. While the Cardinals have had 15 spring games broadcast by FOX Sports Midwest in the past few springs, their opponents and/or national networks could pick up almost as many others.

The Cardinal Nation Blog will have this full broadcast information up to date as it trickles out over the upcoming weeks and months, so look for this news you can’t get in one place anywhere else.

The Cardinals minor league spring training game schedule is not expected to come out any time soon, but when we do get it, members of The Cardinal Nation will be the first to know.

Bonus for members of The Cardinal Nation: Revisiting Cardinals Minor League Free Agents

Not yet a member?

Join The Cardinal Nation for the most comprehensive coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals from the majors through the entire minor league system. Take advantage of our seven-day free trial and a one-year subscription to Sports Illustrated now included with all new annual memberships.

© 2016 The Cardinal Nation, thecardinalnation.com and scout.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


The Cardinal Nation Top Stories