The Springfield Cardinals Report

Game results, Texas League All-Star squad and more.

The Tulsa Drillers beat the Springfield Cardinals on Wednesday, Aug. 24, 5-2. It was not a pretty sight as the Cards fell 5.5 games back of the Texas League East Division leading Arkansas Travelers, with only 11 games left to play--enough said about that. The real news is that three Springfield Cardinals players have been named to the Texas League Post-Season All Star Team.

The 2005 Texas League Post-Season All-Star Team was announced on Wednesday, with three Springfield Cardinals being named to the team. Third baseman Travis Hanson, outfielder Tyler Minges and starting pitcher Randy Leek were all named post-season All-Stars, as voted on by Managers, Radio Broadcasters and members of the media.

Hanson, who has appeared in a team-best 124 games, is hitting .281 with 20 homers and currently leads the Texas League in RBIs with 91.

Minges, who recently went on the disabled list, had a career-year in his first within the St. Louis system. The former Cleveland farmhand hit .324, second in the Texas League, with 19 home runs and 60 RBIs.

Randy Leek, who was signed by the Cardinals after being released by the Los Angeles Dodgers midway through the 2004 season, has also had a career-year, notching 13 wins, tops in the Texas League. Leek, who has posted a record of 13-6 with an ERA of 3.74 in 25 appearances, is currently tied for second in all of Minor League Baseball with 166.2 innings pitched.

Midland's Andre Ethier picked up the award for Texas League Player of the Year, batting .321 with 18 home runs and 78 RBIs. Corpus Christi pitcher Jason Hirsh snagged Pitcher of the Year honors, going 12-8 with a 3.11 ERA. Midland's Von Hayes was named Texas League Manager of the Year, guiding the RockHounds to a West Division first-half title and the best overall mark thus far in the Texas League.

The entire Texas League 2005 Post-Season All-Star Team is listed below.

First Base - Justin Huber, Wichita
Second Base - Alberto Callaspo, Arkansas
Shortstop - Erick Aybar, Arkansas
Third Base - Travis Hanson, Springfield
Catcher - Mike Napoli, Arkansas
Outfield - T. J. Bohn, San Antonio
Outfield - Andre Ethier, Midland
Outfield - Tyler Minges, Springfield
DH - Jason Perry, Midland
Utility - Mike Aviles, Wichita
Pitcher - Randy Leek, Springfield
Pitcher - Jason Hirsh, Corpus Christi
Pitcher - Jon Asahina, Tulsa
Pitcher - Bobby Livingston, San Antonio
Pitcher - Fernando Nieve, Corpus Christi
Pitcher - Sandy Nin, Tulsa

Player of the Year - Andre Ethier, Midland
Pitcher of the Year - Jason Hirsh, Corpus Christi
Manager of the Year - Von Hayes, Midland

The Cards are now 26-32 in the second half and will attemp to get back on track Tonight (Thursday) as Chris Lambert (2-6) faces Tulsa's Zach Parker (10-9). Game time is 7:10 p.m. and gates open at 6:10 p.m. The game can be heard live on KWTO JOCK 98.7 FM or online at Tickets are available at the Hammons Field Ticket Office or online at

You can write John Brayfield at

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories