2006 Ford C. Frick Award Nominee Voting Opens

Four Cardinals broadcasters among those included in online fan ballot for prestigious award.

Who's your favorite Cardinals radio and television personality? Mike Shannon or Joe Buck? Wayne Hagin or even Al Hrabosky?

Now you can vote on it. All four of the above are on the initial 2006 ballot for The Ford C. Frick Award, given annually to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball." The award, named after the late broadcaster and National League President, was first issued by The National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1978.

Past winners with Cardinals connections include Jack Buck (1987), Harry Caray (1989), Joe Garagiola (1991) and Bob Uecker (2003).

Fans have the opportunity to participate in the voting process via the internet. The top three online vote-getters will be placed on the final ballot for consideration for the 2006 Ford C. Frick Award.

A minimum of 10 years of continuous major league service with a club, network, or combination is required to be considered. Broadcasters may be active or retired.

Voters may select up to three candidates each day from a list of 182 names. Selections should be based on four criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including awards and national assignments, such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with the fans.

Voting starts today, November 1, 2005 and runs through November 30, 2005. Only one ballot per person, per day will be accepted.

The final 2006 Ford C. Frick Award ballot, including the three fan selections, will be announced in December and the Award itself will be presented at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony next summer.

Twenty people will vote for the Award itself, including the 14 living past winners (Marty Brennaman, Herb Carneal, Jerry Coleman, Joe Garagiola, Curt Gowdy, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Harry Kalas, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff) along with Bob Costas (NBC and HBO), Barry Horn (The Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian), Curt Smith (historian) and Larry Stewart (Los Angeles Times).

Vote here: Frick voting

Brian Walton can be reached via email at brwalton@earthlink.net.

Special limited-time offer - receive 60 issues of the Sporting News plus the 128-page hardcover book "Ozzie Smith: The Road to Cooperstown" included with your one-year subscription to thestlcardinals.com. thestlcardinals.com Total Access Pass(tm)

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories