Carpenter Cy Young Award Press Conference

The 2005 National League Cy Young Award winner speaks with the press Thursday afternoon.

On Thursday afternoon, the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced their member voting for the 2005 National League Cy Young Award. The Cardinals' Chris Carpenter won the award (132 votes) over Florida's Dontrelle Willis (112) and Houston's Roger Clemens (40). Carpenter posted a 21-5 record with a 2.83 ERA in 241-2/3 innings in 2005 and joined Willis as the only players named on all 32 ballots.

In the process, Carp became St. Louis' only Cy Young Award winner other than Bob Gibson, who earned it in 1968 and 1970. In the years since Gibson won, the only Cardinals to finish as high as second in the voting were John Tudor in 1985 and Lee Smith in 1991.

Following the award announcement, Carpenter met with the press. Click on the links below to hear his entire press conference.

Part One:

Part Two:

Part Three:

Brian Walton can be reached via email at

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories