Cards to be on National TV Eleven Times

Initial Big FOX and ESPN 2006 television schedules are out!

One of my long awaited initial signals of the upcoming season, sort of like the first robin of spring, has appeared with the first of the television schedules coming to light. The Big FOX Saturday baseball lineup for 2006 is out along with a first taste of the ESPN national schedule and together they hold good news for Cardinals fans the world over.

The FOX Network plans to televise eight Saturday afternoon Redbirds tilts during the season and even better, half of them are against the evil Cubbies. Along with two other contests, ESPN has added another match-up against the Northsiders as the very first national Cards offering of the season, scheduled on Sunday night, April 9.

ESPN having moved this Wrigley Field contest from the afternoon to the evening has caused a bit of a fuss, as it minimizes the time the Cardinals will have to prepare for their home opener and the inaugural game in the new Busch Stadium III the very next day, on Monday afternoon, April 10.

All eleven games are listed below, with more televised games to be highlighted right here just as soon as they become known.

 Date  Opponent Time (CT)  TV 
Sunday, April 9  @ Cubs  7:05 PM ESPN
Saturday, May 27  @ Padres  3:05 PM FOX
Saturday, June 3  vs Cubs  3:05 PM FOX
Saturday, July 8  @ Astros  3:05 PM FOX
Saturday, July 15  vs Dodgers  12:20 PM FOX
Monday, July 17  vs Braves  6:05 PM ESPN
Saturday, July 29  @ Cubs  3:05 PM FOX
Saturday, August 19  @ Cubs  12:20 PM FOX
Saturday, August 26  vs Cubs  12:20 PM FOX
Saturday, September 16  vs Giants  3:05 PM FOX
Friday, September 22  @ Astros  6:05 PM ESPN

Brian Walton can be reached via email at brwalton@earthlink.net.

© 2006 www.thestlcardinals.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, rewritten or redistributed.


The Cardinal Nation Top Stories