Three Springfield Cards Repeat as All-Stars

Three Springfield Cardinals, Colby Rasmus, Bryan Anderson and Chris Perez, have been named Texas League Post-Season All-Stars after garnering the same recognition at mid-season.

Texas League Post-Season All-Stars were announced on Monday by the League Office, with three Springfield Cardinals earning a spot on this season's roster.

Outfielder Colby Rasmus, catcher Bryan Anderson and reliever Chris Perez, all of whom were mid-season Texas League All-Stars, rounded out a great season by picking up the post-season honor as well.

Rasmus, 21, currently leads the Texas League and all of Double-A baseball with 26 home runs. The 2005 first-round draft pick is currently on a 12-game hitting streak. Rasmus' average currently stands at .278 with 67 RBIs.

Anderson has been in the Texas League's top-10 for average most of the year. He currently ranks fifth in the league with a .302 average. The 20-year old has five homers and 49 RBIs in 97 games for Springfield this year.

Perez, now a member of the Triple-A Memphis Redbirds, had a great season for Springfield before the promotion. Perez, 22, recorded 27 straight save opportunities, finishing 27 of 28 on the year. Perez went 2-0 with a 2.43 ERA in 39 games. Perez has converted six of seven saves since taking over the closer's role in Memphis.

Chase Headley of San Antonio was named Player of the Year while San Antonio's Josh Geer was named Pitcher of the Year. Frisco's Dave Anderson was named Manager of the Year.

The rest of the team looks like this: 1B Mike Stodolka (WICH), 2B German Duran (FRI), SS Sean Rodriguez (ARK), 3B Chase Headley (SA), C Nick Hundley (SA), Utility Freddy Sandoval (ARK), OF Richie Robnett (MID), OF Ray Sadler (CC), OF WIll Venable (SA), DH Christian Colonel (TUL), RHP Miguel Gonzalez (ARK), RHP Nick Green (ARK), RHP Luis Mendoza (FRI), LHP Troy Patton (CC) and RHP Steven Register (TUL).

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories