Cardinals Re-Assign Ten Non-Roster Invitees

The St. Louis Cardinals reassigned seven pitchers and three catchers to minor league camp on Monday.

The St. Louis Cardinals made their first cuts of the spring on Monday, reassigning seven pitchers and three catchers to minor league camp. Not coincidentally, all minor league pitchers and catchers reported to camp on Monday.

None of the players reassigned are on the club's 40-man roster. Five of the six right-handed pitchers are prospects: Mitchell Boggs, Adam Ottavino, P.J. Walters, Tyler Herron and Stuart Pomeranz. Walters was the organization's 2007 Minor League Pitcher of the Year.

Fellow right-hander Dewon Brazelton came into camp on a minor league deal, but has been slowed by injury. The lone left-hander among the group is Jaime Garcia, our number three prospect in the system.

Three catchers were also sent to the minor league complex on Monday. They are David Carpenter, Nick Derba and Brandon Yarbrough. The three were with the major league club to help handle the additional catching workload.

Several of the seven hurlers are still scheduled to be called upon to rejoin the Major League club to get an inning or two on the mound in spring training games later this week. In fact, Boggs pitched Monday, allowing five baserunners and one earned run in two innings against Washington.

After the moves on Monday, 19 of the 29 Cardinals non-roster invitees (NRIs) remain in major league camp, along with the 39 players currently on the 40-man roster.

Perhaps as notable as which moves were made are those which were not. Notable non-roster pitching prospects still in Major League camp are 2007 draftee Clayton Mortensen and "closer of the future" Chris Perez.

Remaining NRIs ("Prospects" below are simply those with no previous MLB experience.)

Prospect NRIs
Pitchers Reassigned
Mitchell Boggs 03/03/08
Hugo Castellanos
Jaime Garcia 03/03/08
Tyler Herron 03/03/08
Clayton Mortensen
Adam Ottavino 03/03/08
Chris Perez
Stuart Pomeranz 03/03/08
P.J. Walters 03/03/08
Position Players
David Freese
Amaury Marti
Colby Rasmus
Nick Stavinoha
Rico Washington
Bryan Anderson
David Carpenter 03/03/08
Nick Derba 03/03/08
Gabe Johnson
Matt Pagnozzi
Brandon Yarbrough 03/03/08
Veteran NRIs
Pitchers Reassigned
Dewon Brazelton 03/03/08
Ron Flores
Cliff Politte
Ron Villone
John Wasdin
Position Players
Juan Gonzalez
D'Angelo Jimenez
Josh Phelps
Mark Johnson

Brian Walton can be reached via email at

© 2008 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, rewritten or redistributed.

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories