Pujols and Ludwick Win Silver Slugger Awards

St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols and outfielder Ryan Ludwick win 2008 National League Silver Slugger Awards.

St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols and outfielder Ryan Ludwick won Silver Slugger Awards as announced Thursday afternoon by Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger. Ludwick and Pujols are the only teammates listed on the National League team. The Minnesota Twins (Justin Morneau and Joe Mauer) and New York Yankees (Derek Jeter and Alex Rodriguez) each had a pair of players listed among American League winners. It is the first time a Cardinal has won a Silver Slugger since 2005 when pitcher Jason Marquis took home the hardware. It is the seventh year multiple Redbirds have won the top offensive award in baseball, first since 2004 (Pujols/Edmonds), with a high of five winners in 1980 (K. Hernandez, G. Templeton, G. Hendrick, T. Simmons and B. Forsch).


Ludwick responded to increased playing time to post an All-Star caliber 2008 season in which he collected career highs in batting average (.299), home runs (37) and RBI (113). Named earlier this offseason to the National League Sporting News post-season All-Star team, Ludwick became the first player since Hideki Matsui (2004) and Lefty O'Doul (1929) to hit 30 home runs and have 100 RBI at age 30 while having had 750 or less career at-bats. He is one of nine players to win the award for the first time this year and is the fifth Cardinals outfielder all-time to earn the honor (G. Hendrick – 1980, W. McGee – 1985, A. Pujols – 2003 and J. Edmonds – 2004). Ludwick is the seventh different Cardinal to win the award in the last 21 years.


Pujols won his fourth Silver Slugger and second as a first baseman (2004). He's also won the award at third base (2001) and as an outfielder (2003). A perennial MVP candidate, he had another record-setting season and was named Player of the Year by both MLBPA Player's Choice and the The Sporting News. Albert was the team's "Triple Crown" winner for the fourth straight season and seventh time in eight years as he led the team with a .357 batting average and 116 RBI, while his 37 home runs tied Ludwick for the team lead.


Ludwick and Pujols will receive their Silver Slugger Awards in an on-field ceremony prior to a regular season game next spring. Following are previous Cardinals Silver Slugger award winners.



(Team selected at the conclusion of the season in a poll of N.L. managers and coaches)


1980 Keith Hernandez, 1b

Garry Templeton, ss

George Hendrick, of

Ted Simmons, c

Bob Forsch, p


1983 George Hendrick, 1b


1985 Jack Clark, 1b

Willie McGee, of


1987 Jack Clark, 1b

Ozzie Smith, ss

Bob Forsch, p


1998 Mark McGwire, 1b


2000 Edgar Renteria, ss


2001 Albert Pujols, 3b


2002 Edgar Renteria, ss

Scott Rolen, 3b


2003 Albert Pujols, of

Edgar Renteria, ss


2004 Albert Pujols, 1b

Jim Edmonds, of


2005 Jason Marquis, p


2008 Ryan Ludwick, of

Albert Pujols, 1b


2008 Silver Slugger Winners


American League

1B – Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins

2B – Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox

3B – Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees

SS – Derek Jeter, New York Yankees

OF – Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers

OF – Carlos Quentin, Chicago White Sox

OF – Grady Sizemore, Cleveland Indians

C – Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins

DH - Aubrey Huff, Baltimore Orioles


National League

1B – Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

2B – Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies

3B – David Wright, New York Mets

SS – Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins

OF – Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies

OF – Ryan Ludwick, St. Louis Cardinals

OF – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

C – Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves

P – Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs

The Cardinal Nation Top Stories