Miracle clinch FSL title

It took 11 innings and a two-run homer to hand Daytona their first-ever playoff series loss as Fort Myers won the Florida State League championship.

High A—Fort Myers 4, Daytona 2—11 innings

A two-run homer in the top of the 11th gave the Miracle the win and the Florida State League title, downing Daytona three-games-to-one.

At the Dish: Daytona had seven hits and both runs came courtesy of two Fort Myers errors. They cut the lead to 2-1 in the fourth when C Willson Contreras’ (.455) grounder was thrown away, allowing Daniel Vogelbach (.273) to score from second. They tied the game in the 6th when Vogelbach doubled and scored on another Contreras’ grounder than was mishandled. Daytona had a chance to win it in the 10th when Gioskar Amaya (.385) reached on a wild pitch on strike three and took second on a Kyle Schwarber (.174) single. Vogelbach then flew out to left to end the threat. Jacob Hannemann (.250) doubled and Daytona was 0-for-8 with RISP.

On the Hill: Rob Zastryzny got the start and only lasted into the fourth, allowing a run in the first and another in the fourth. He finished with a line of 3.1 IP, 6H, 2 ER, 1 BB, 3 K. Jose Rosario kept the D-Cubs in the game with four no-hit innings, walking four with five strikeouts. Stephen Perakslis got the final two outs of the 8th after Rosario’s fourth walk and then tossed two more scoreless frames. After a double to leadoff the 11th, Jason Kanzler slugged a two-run homer. Perakslis then gave up a single, was called for a balk, and then ejected after arguing the call. Austin Kirk got the final two outs.

D-Cubs Notes: It was the first time in Daytona history they lost a playoff series and they finish the year at 70-72.

Low A—Kane County

Cougars have two days off and will host Lake County on Wednesday in the opening game of the MWL championship series. The Cougars have yet to name a starter but Ben Wells would have gone if a game 3 had been needed against Cedar Rapids.

D-Cubs box score for Game 4

Northsiders Report Top Stories