Cubs finalize opening day roster

CHICAGO – The Chicago Cubs today set their Opening Day 25-man roster in advance of their 2008 season opener tomorrow afternoon against the Milwaukee Brewers at Wrigley Field.

The Cubs placed left-handed pitcher Scott Eyre on the 15-day disabled list with left elbow inflammation, retroactive to March 23. Additionally, the Cubs optioned outfielder Matt Murton and left-handed pitcher Sean Marshall to Triple-A Iowa.

The 2008 Opening Day roster includes 12 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders and four outfielders. In addition to Eyre, right-handed pitcher Angel Guzman was placed on the 60-day disabled list on March 25 with status post ulnar collateral ligament reconstruction of his right elbow.

The Cubs open their 133rd National League season tomorrow afternoon at 1:20 against the Milwaukee Brewers to kick off a six-game homestand. After three with the Brewers (March 31-April 3), the Houston Astros come to town for three games (April 4-6) before the Cubs depart for a six-game road trip to Pittsburgh and Philadelphia.

Cubs' 2008 Opening Day Roster

Northsiders Report Top Stories