Gibson named BBWAA NL Manager of the Year

Arizona Diamondbacks' Manager Kirk Gibson has been named the 2011 National League Manager of the Year as announced by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Gibson is the second Diamondbacks manager to earn the honors, joining 2007 winner Bob Melvin.

Kirk Gibson, 54, was the only manager in either league this year to be named to every BBWAA ballot. He is the fourth former MVP to win Manager of the Year honors, joining Frank Robinson, current D-backs hitting coach Don Baylor, and Joe Torre.

Gibson led the D-backs to a 94-68 regular-season record and their fifth NL West Division championship. They lost their NL Division Series versus the Milwaukee Brewers 3 games to 2. According to Elias Sports Bureau, Gibson is the first manager to take his team to the playoffs in his first full season after the team finished in last place the previous season.

Under Gibson, the D-backs' 29-game turnaround in 2011 tied for the third-best in the majors since 1998, according to Elias Sports Bureau, matching the Detroit Tigers in 2004 but behind both the D-backs' 35-game turnaround in 1999 and the Tampa Bay Rays' 31-game turnaround in 2007. The D-backs had 94 wins in 2011 after 97 losses in 2010 and 92 losses in 2009 to become only the eighth team in history to win 90 games in a season after losing at least 90 games in each of the previous two seasons, joining the Red Sox in 1967, Brewers in 1978, New York Mets in 1984, Chicago White Sox in 1990, Atlanta Braves in 1991, Tigers in 2006, and Rays in 2008.

The D-backs had a major league-best and franchise-record 48 comeback wins in 2011.

Gibson, who also earned Sporting News' NL Manager of the Year honors, is 128-117 (.522) overall since being named the D-backs' interim manager on July 1, 2010. He was officially named the sixth manager in club history on Oct. 4, 2010. His .522 winning percentage is second-best in franchise history behind Bob Brenly (.536, 2001-04) and ahead of Buck Showalter (.514, 1998-2000), Bob Melvin (.498, 2005-09), A.J. Hinch (.420, 2009-10), and Al Pedrique (.265, 2004).


Manager Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Kirk Gibson Az 28 4 0 152
Ron Roenicke Mil 3 25 2 92
Tony La Russa Stl 1 2 13 24
Charlie Manuel Phi 0 1 7 10
Fredi Gonzalez Atl 0 0 4 4
Bruce Bochy SF 0 0 2 2
Clint Hurdle Pit 0 0 2 2
Terry Collins NYM 0 0 1 1
Don Mattingly LAD 0 0 1 1

Are you a full member of If not, then you are missing out on the top Diamondbacks coverage we provide to our premium members, as well as full access to over 400 other sites.  Join us today!

Follow on Twitter

DBacks Insider Top Stories