Yakima Bears Opening Day Roster

The Yakima Bears begin their season tonight in Spokane. This year's opening day roster features 17 players selected by the Arizona Diamondbacks in last week's draft that have already signed, headlined by 35th overall pick Matt Davidson.

YAKIMA - The Arizona Diamondbacks officially announced the 2009 Yakima Bears roster.  It features three top-10 draft picks from this year as well as eight returning players.

The biggest name on the team is supplemental first-round draft selection Matt Davidson.  Davidson was considered by many to be one of the best prep bats available in the draft, while others expressed concerns about his uppercut swing.  At 6-foot-3 and 215 pounds, he already has the body of a big league power hitter.

Joining the 35th overall pick Davidson in Yakima will be fifth rounder Ryan Wheeler and 10th rounder Tyson Van Winkle.

Wheeler is a 6-foot-4, 230-pound slugging first baseman out of Loyola Marymount University in Southern California. Van Winkle, hailing from Vancouver, Wash., is a 6-foot, 195-pound catcher out of Gonzaga University who led the Bulldogs in virtually every major offensive category for the 2009 season.

Also playing for the Bears this summer will be fan-favorite Clayton Conner. Third baseman Conner tore up the Northwest League for Yakima in 2007, hitting .351 with nine home runs, 12 doubles, and 45 runs batted over a 45-game stretch.

The Yakima Bears home opener is scheduled for June 23 against the Eugene Emeralds, featuring Edgar Martinez at the ballpark. Single-game tickets, season tickets and seven new mini plans are on sale now at the new downtown Bears office at 17 N. 3rd Street, Suite 101 and online at yakimabears.com.


FutureBacks.com Draft Tracker - Sortable with updated signing info
Full Roster - Kept up-to-date with height and weight info

Justin Albert, LHP (U Vermont)
Ariel Brea, LHP (Bani, Domican Repub.)
Brian Budrow, RHP (U Utah)
Ben Dollar, RHP (Yakima Bears '08)
Brad Gemberling, RHP (Princeton U)
Jake Hale, RHP (Ohio St U)
Randy Hamrick, RHP (Brewton Parker Coll.)
Will Harvil, RHP (U Georgia)
Christopher Odegaard, RHP (Minnesota St U)
Jesse Orosco, RHP (Missoula Osprey '08)
Rafael Quezada, RHP (Missoula Osprey '08)
Pira Rodriguez, RHP (Missoula Osprey '08)
Houston Summers, RHP (Yakima Bears '08)
Clayton Suss, RHP (Yakima Bears '08)
Dan Taylor, LHP (Central Michigan U)
Ricardo Taveras, LHP (Yakima Bears '08)
Brad Wilson, RHP (Cal Poly Pomona)
Andrew Wolcott, RHP (Duke U)

Jorge Corniel (Missoula Osprey '08)
Jhoan Pimentel (Yakima Bears '08)
Tyson Van Winkle (Gonzaga U)
Zac Varnell (U Arkansas Pine Bluff)

Evan Button, SS (Ole Miss)
Clayton Conner, 3B (South Bend Silverhawks '08)
Matt Davidson, 3B (Yucaipa HS)
Andrew Fie, 3B (Yakima Bears '08)
Brent Greer, SS (Western Carolina U)
Daniel Kaczrowski, SS (Hamline U)
Gerson Montilla, 2B (Arizona DSL '08)
Ryan Wheeler, 1B (Loyola Marymount U)

Astolfo Inciarte (Arizona DSL '08)
Roberto Rodriguez (Yakima Bears '08)
Tim Sherlock (Duke U)
Tyrell Worthington (Missoula Osprey '08)

Are you a full member of FutureBacks.com? If not, then you are missing out on the top Diamondbacks coverage we provide to our premium members, as well as full access to over 400 other Scout.com sites.  Join us today!

DBacks Insider Top Stories