D-backs Instructional League Roster: Pitchers

The Arizona Diamondbacks have selected 21 of their best young pitchers to participate in their Fall Instructional League. The organization needs to be careful not to overtax these young arms. Workouts have already begun and the first game against Thursday, September 24.

Pitching-wise, the D-backs 209 Fall Instructional League can be thought of as Missoula South.  A whopping 14 of the 21 pitchers in the Instructional League played for the Osprey at some point last year.

Enrique Burgos, Kevin Eichhorn, Wade Miley, Miles Reagan, and Bryan Shaw return for their second consecutive Instructional League.  Burgos, Eichhorn, and Reagan are quite young, so it will be the veterans Miley and Shaw showing the other youngsters the ropes.  Shaw is someone with whom the D-backs will want to be careful.  He was a closer his entire career at Long Beach State, then started 19 of his 30 games this season with Visalia for a career-high 107.1 innings pitched.

Additionally, Mike Belfiore, taken 45th overall, is famous for having been used for 129 pitches during a 9 2/3-inning relief stint a week before the draft.  He pitched an additional 58 innings in the regular season with Missoula, plus an extra 10.1 innings over two postseason starts.  If he or Shaw should suffer an injury or a dead arm period next year, new farm director Mike Berger is going to take a lot of heat for his handling of these two promising young pitchers.

Ten pitchers total on the Instructs roster hail from the 2009 draft class, including the first eight selected by the Diamondbacks.  Joining them are Christopher Odegaard (20th round) and Jake Hale (27th).  This is a sign that the organization is higher on Odegaard and Hale than their draft positions would suggest.

Pitcher Throws Age 2009 Team(s)
Scott Allen R 18 Missoula
Chase Anderson R 19 Missoula
Mike Belfiore L 19 Missoula
Charles Brewer R 21 Missoula
Enrique Burgos R 18 Missoula
Victor Capellan R 20 SB/Visalia
Kevin Eichhorn R 19 Missoula
Bradin Hagens R 20 Missoula
Wade Miley L 22 SB/Visalia
Chris Odegaard R 22 Yakima
Yonata Ortega R 22 South Bend
Miguel Pena R 19 Missoula
Miles Reagan R 18 Missoula
Ryan Robowski L 21 Missoula
Diogenes Rosario R 21 Missoula
Patrick Schuster L 18 Missoula
Bryan Shaw R 21 Visalia
Eric Smith R 20 Missoula/SB
Keny Sosa L 22 Missoula/SB
Eric Thieroff R 22 Yakima

View the Position Players Roster here

Discuss this story in the FutureBacks.com Subscriber-Only Message Boards.

DBacks Insider Top Stories