TSN Honors Dodgers Kemp, Kershaw

Outfielder Matt Kemp and pitcher Clayton Kershaw were both selected on the 2011 Sporting News All-Star team. The award is voted on by members of major league front offices, AL and 29 NL executives. It is Kemp's second award. Mike Piazza was honored five times while playing in Dodger Blue.

In the NL, Los Angeles Dodgers center fielder Matt Kemp was the only unanimous selection. Teammate Clayton Kershaw joined him on the roster as the starting pitcher.

Kemp was selected to the team inn 2009 and is the ninth Los Angeles Dodgers selection in the outfield. Kershaw is making his first appearance and is the 11th pitcher so honored.

In 1925, pitcher Dazzy Vance was the first Dodger to be chosen. Catcher Mike Piazza was honored five times, Jackie Robinson drew four spots as did catcher Roy Campanella, first baseman Steve Garvey and pitcher Sandy Koufax. Three time selections went to outfielder Duke Snider and shortstop Maury Wills.

Kemp joins the list of double winners along with pitcher Don Newcombe, outfielder Tommy Davis, second baseman Davey Lopes and pitcher Fernando Valenzuela.

After Kemp's unanimous selection in 2011, Milwaukee Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun received 28 votes, and teammate Prince Fielder was selected as the NL's starting first baseman. A pair of Atlanta Braves also made the lineup: catcher Brian McCann and rookie reliever Craig Kimbrel.

Arizona Diamondbacks right fielder Justin Upton joined Kemp and Braun in the outfield, while Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips, Chicago Cubs third baseman Aramis Ramirez and Colorado Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki rounded out the infield.

?Detroit Tigers ace Justin Verlander, chosen as the team's starting pitcher, was the only unanimous selection in the AL. He was joined by teammate Alex Avila at catcher. The New York Yankees had three starters on the team: center fielder Curtis Granderson, second baseman Robinson Cano and reliever Mariano Rivera.

Granderson received 25 votes, as did fellow outfielders Jacoby Ellsbury of the Boston Red Sox and Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays. Rounding out the AL lineup are Red Sox first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and Cleveland Indians shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera.

Full All-Star Teams

C Brian McCann, Braves?
1B Prince Fielder, Brewers?
2B Brandon Phillips, Reds?
3B Aramis Ramirez, Cubs?
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
?OF Matt Kemp, Dodgers?
OF Ryan Braun, Brewers
?OF Justin Upton, Diamondbacks
?SP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
?RP Craig Kimbrel, Braves

C Alex Avila, Tigers?
1B Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox?
2B Robinson Cano, Yankees?
3B Adrian Beltre, Rangers?
SS Asdrubal Cabrera, Indians
?OF Jose Bautista, Blue Jays?
OF Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox?
OF Curtis Granderson, Yankees?
DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox?
SP Justin Verlander, Tigers
?RP Mariano Rivera, Yankees
Voting for Sporting News' 2011 baseball awards was done by major league players, managers and front office executives. Ballots were distributed to all 30 teams, and 289 players, 55 executives and 23 managers participated in the voting. Players voted for player of the year, comeback players of the year and rookies of the year; managers voted for managers of the year; and executives voted for the All-Star teams. 

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories