Izturis, Finley Win Gold Gloves

Shortstop Cesar Izturis, in his third major league season, won his first Rawlings Gold Glove Award and center fielder Steve Finley his fifth in voting by major league managers. The 24-year-old Izturis became the first Dodger shortstop to win the defensive award since Maury Wills in 1962. Edgar Renteria of St. Louis was selected the last two years.

Despite the fact Los Angles led the National League in fielding percentage, recording only 73 errors, the St. Louis Cardinals placed catcher Mike Matheny, center fielder Jim Edmonds and third baseman Scott Rolen on the team.

2004 NL Gold Glove Awards
Pitcher: Greg Maddux, Chicago Cubs
Catcher: Mike Matheny, St. Louis Cardinals
First base: Todd Helton, Colorado Rockies
Second base: Luis Castillo, Florida Marlins
Third base: Scott Rolen, St. Louis Cardinals
Shortstop: Cesar Izturis, L.A. Dodgers
Outfield: Jim Edmonds, St. Louis Cardinals
Outfield: Steve Finley, L.A. Dodgers
Outfield: Andruw Jones, Atlanta Braves

Izturis was the keystone of a Dodger offense that set a new franchise record while leading the league with a .988 fielding percentage. He committed only 10 errors in 159 games and ranked third in the league with a .985 fielding percentage. He also led all Major League shortstops with a .881 zone rating, which measures the percentage of balls fielded by a player in his typical defensive "zone."

The 39-year-old Finley was acquired in a July 31 trade from Arizona and became the first Dodgers outfielder to win a Gold Glove since Raul Mondesi in 1997 and the first L.A. center fielder since Willie Davis in 1973. Finley committed three errors and had a .992 fielding percentage on the year.

Finley became only the fourth position player to win the award for three different teams. He won with San Diego in 1995-96 and with Arizona in 2000-01.

It is the seventh time the Dodgers have placed a pair on the honor team. Charles Johnson was the last Dodgers Gold Glove winner, in 1998. The last time they had two winners in the same year was 1975 (pitcher Andy Messersmith and first baseman Steve Garvey),

In 1997, the initial season the award was made, Gil Hodges won the first of his three gloves. He also won in 1958 and 1959. His 1957 trophy was the only Brooklyn winner and the first year the award was given.

Hodges started a trend of Dodger first base Gold Glove winners, including six straight for Wes Parker 1967-72 and four straight awards for Steve Garvey 1974-77.

Center fielder Willie Davis was a three-time award winner. Shortstop Maury Wills won twice as did catcher John Roseboro, pitcher Andy Messersmith and right fielder Raul Mondesi. A Dodgers third baseman has never won a Gold Glove. The list:

Year -- Player
1957--Gil Hodges, 1B
1958--Gil Hodges, 1B
1959--Gil Hodges, 1B
1959--Charlie Neal, 2B
1960--Wally Moon, OF
1961--John Roseboro, C
1961--Maury Wills, SS
1962--Maury Wills, SS
1966--John Roseboro, C
1967--Wes Parker, 1B
1968--Wes Parker, 1B
1969--Wes Parker, 1B
1970--Wes Parker, 1B
1971--Wes Parker, 1B
1971--Willie Davis, OF
1972--Wes Parker, 1B
1972--Willie Davis, OF
1973--Willie Davis, OF
1974--Steve Garvey, 1B
1974--Andy Messersmith, P
1975--Steve Garvey, 1B
1975--Andy Messersmith, P
1976--Steve Garvey, 1B
1977--Steve Garvey, 1B
1978--Davey Lopes, 2B
1981--Dusty Baker, OF
1986-- Fernando Valenzuela, P
1988---Orel Hershiser, P
1995--Raul Mondesi, OF
1997--Raul Mondesi, OF
1998--Charles Johnson, C
2004--Cesar Izturis SS
2004--Steve Finley OF