Beltré Second to Bonds in MVP Voting

Adrian Beltré, who had 48 homers to tie Mike Schmidt's record for homers by a third baseman, finished second with six first-place votes and 311 points in the 2004 Most Valuable Player voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

But San Francisco Giants left fielder Barry Bonds captured the National League Most Valuable Player Award for the seventh time, and fourth in a row. The Giants' slugger, who turned 40 July 24, batted .362, lifting his career average from .297 to .300 while becoming the oldest player to win a batting title. He also set himself apart as the first in history with an above .600 on-base percentage, his .609 OBP eclipsing his mark of .584 set in 2002. He also smashed his records for walks (232) and intentional walks (120).

St. Louis Cardinals' first baseman Albert Pujols (.331, 46 HRs, 123 RBI) and third baseman Scott Rolen (.314, 34 124) each got one first-place vote and finished third and fourth, respectively. Cardinals center fielder Jim Edmonds (.301, 42, 111) was fifth.

Dodger stopper Eric Gagné finished 11th in the voting after finishing sixth in 2003.

Beltré's finish was the highest since Mike Piazza finished second in both 1996 and 1997. The votes are weighted 14-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

NL MVP top 15 voting Points, Player, team 407--Barry Bonds, San Francisco 311--Adrian Beltré, Los Angeles 247--Albert Pujols, St. Louis 226--Scott Rolen, St. Louis 160--Jim Edmonds, St. Louis

114--J.D. Drew, Atlanta 100--Lance Berkman, Houston 61--Roger Clemens, Houston 50--Mark Loretta, San Diego 42--Aramis Ramirez, Chicago

30--Eric Gagné, Los Angeles 20--Carlos Beltran, Houston 18--Jeff Kent, Houston 15--Steve Finley, Arizona 15--Moises Alou, Chicago Other Votes: Juan Pierre, Florida, 9; Todd Helton, Colorado, 9; Johnny Estrada, Atlanta, 8; Randy Johnson, Arizona, 7; Jim Thome, Philadelphia, 7; John Smoltz, Atlanta. 6; Miguel Cabrera, Florida, 5; Armando Benitez, Florida, 3; Jeromy Burnitz, Colorado, 3; Bobby Abreu, Philadelphia, 3; Vinny Castilla, Colorado, 3; Roy Oswalt, Houston, 3; Adam Dunn, Cincinnati, 2; Carlos Zambrano, Chicago, 2; Phil Nevin, San Diego, 1; Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia, 1.