Garciaparra, Furcal 12th, 13th in MVP Voting

Firstbaseman Nomar Garciaparra finished 12th and shortstop Rafael Furcal was 13th in the National League ‘Most Valuable Player' voting for 2006. Garciaparra received two seventh place, three ninth and eighth 10th place votes. Furcal garnered one seventh, three eighth, one ninth and one 10th place votes.

Second baseman Jeff Kent was 19th in the 2005 vote and third baseman Adrian Beltre was second in 2004.

There has been only two Dodger winners in the last 47 years -- Steve Garvey in 1974 and Kirk Gibson in 1988.

Philadelphia's Ryan Howard was named the National League's MVP, edging defending MVP Albert Pujols 388 points to 347 in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The award is sponsored by the Baseball Writers of America. Members vote for 10, and the votes are weighted 14-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.
  2006 NL MVP voting:
  Player  Club            1st 2nd 3rd tot
Ryan Howard Philadelphia   20 12  —  388
Albert Pujols St. Louis    12 19  1  347
Lance Berkman Houston       —  — 21  230
Carlos Beltran New York     —  1  5  211
Miguel Cabrera Florida      —  —  2  170
Alfonso Soriano Washington  —  —  1  106
Jose Reyes New York         —  —  1   98
Chase Utley Philadelphia    —  —  —   98
David Wright New York Mets  —  —  1   70
Trevor Hoffman San Diego    —  —  —   46
Other votes: Andruw Jones Atlanta (29); Carlos Delgado Mets (23): Nomar Garciaparra Los Angeles (18); Rafael Furcal Los Angeles (11); Garrett Atkins Colorado (10); Matt Holliday Colorado (10); Aramis Ramirez Chicago (5); Freddy Sanchez Pittsburgh (5); Chris Carpenter St. Louis (4); Chipper Jones Atlanta (3); Mike Cameron San Diego (2); Jimmy Rollins Philadelphia (2); Bronson Arroyo Cincinnati (1); Jason Bay Pittsburgh (1).

All-time MVPs
Dodger players have earned points in MVP voting since 1913, although no official MVP voting was conducted during 1915-23 or in 1930.

For the all-time rankings, players are awarded points similar to the MVP voting, with 14 for a first place vote, nine for second, etc. Players are raked by total points earned over their Dodgers career.

Jake Daubert was the first winner in 1913, followed by Dazzy Vance in 1924, Dolph Camilli in 1941, Jackie Robinson in 1949, Campanella in 1951, 1953, and 1955, Don Newcombe in 1956, Maury Wills in 1962, Sandy Koufax in 1963, Steve Garvey in 1974 and Kirk Gibson in 1988.

Brackets indicate times each was picked in the top ten. * indicates MVP:
                MVP Points
*Steve Garvey (5)    35
Mike Piazza (5)      32
*Roy Campanella (4)  31
Duke Snider (6)      30
Pee Wee Reese (8)    29

*Sandy Koufax (3)    28
*Jackie Robinson (4) 25
*Maury Wills (4)     25
Pedro Guerrero (3)   23
*Don Newcombe (3)    17                          
Others career vote totals—Pete Reiser, Dixie Walker, *Dazzy Vance 16; *Kirk Gibson, Reggie Smith 14; *Dolph Camilli, Jake Daubert 13; Tommy Davis, Don Drysdale and Jim Gilliam 12; Dusty Baker, Shawn Green, 11.
Nine points-Adrian Beltré, Babe Herman, Sal Maglie, Zach Wheat.
Eight—Joe Black, Gil Hodges, Mike Marshall, Lefty O'Doul, Whitlow Wyatt.
Seven—Bruce Edwards, Carl Furillo, Billy Herman, Wally Moon, Mickey Owen, Ron Perranoski.
Six—Fred Fitzsimmons, Eric Karros, Eddie Murray, Wes Parker, Preacher Roe, Fernando Valenzuela, Jim Wynn.
Five—Eric Gagné, Orel Hershiser.
Four—Brett Butler, Kirby Higbe, Charlie Neal, Phil Regan, Eddie Stanky, Glenn Wright.

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories