Scully receives John Wooden Award

Dodger Hall of Fame broadcaster Vin Scully received the John R. Wooden Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual Sports Legends Awards, Feb. 24 at the Omni Hotel in Los Angeles. The event is presented by the Paralysis Project of America to benefit spinal cord research.

"To have my name associated with John Wooden, who I truly admire, is really something special," said Scully. "The fact that this award is presented by such an impressive charitable organization makes it even greater and I'm touched to be involved in the event."  

So far in 2007 alone, the Hall of Fame broadcaster has been named California Sportscaster of the Year for a Record 28th time and received awards from the Southern California Sports Broadcasters Association (SCSB) and the Radio and Television News Association of Southern California (RTNA). Scully took home the Best Radio Play-by-Play and Best Television Play-by-Play awards from the SCSB and won the prestigious lifetime achievement award from the RTNA.  

Scully was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1982. In July 2000, Scully was named as the "Sportscaster of the 20th Century" by more than 500 national members of the American Sportscasters Association.  

His 58 years of consecutive service with the Dodgers is the longest of any sports broadcaster with one team and he has been named the country's Outstanding Sportscaster four times, and California Sportscaster of the Year 24 times by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.  

In 2001, the press box at Dodger Stadium was named in his honor. Throughout his career, Scully has called 25 World Series and 12 All-Star Games.  

The Sports Legends Awards benefit, which was emceed by veteran Los Angeles sportscaster Tom Kelly, kicked off with a reception, autograph session and silent auction. Other honorees at this year's event include former baseball great Dave Winfield, soccer star Cobi Jones, swimmer Diana Nyad and legendary jockey Ron Turcotte.  

Sports Legends Awards honorees are selected annually for their contributions to sports by the Paralysis Project of America's Business and Sports Councils. Headed by chairman Bob Seagren, the Sports Council includes former Sports Legends Award winners Pepper David, Jim Him, Rafer Johnson, Jim Knaub, Jack Kramer, Ann Meyers-Drysdale, Joe Morgan, Don Newcombe, Bill Sharman, Gary Stevens, Al Unser, Rogie Vachon, Jamaal Wilkes and John R. Wooden.