Saito Finalist for 'Delivery Man' award

Major League Baseball Properties and DHL today have announced the 10 finalists for the third annual "DHL Presents the Major League Baseball Delivery Man of the Year Award." Dodger reliever Takaski Saito is one of those listed.

  Saito was selected as the winner of the award" for August. Saito was 10-for-10 in save opportunities in August, tying him with Jose Valverde of the Arizona Diamondbacks for most saves in the Major Leagues.  

He finished with a 0.68 ERA and allowed only one earned run in 14 games. The right-hander struck out 21 batters over 13.1 innings pitched while only surrendering seven hits and two walks. The closer has not allowed a run in his last 12 appearances, spanning 11.1 innings.  

Saito's ERA is the lowest in the Majors among pitchers with at least 50.0 innings pitched. This was the first DHL Delivery Man of the Month award for the 2007 National League All-Star.  

From September 25 through October 8, fans will be able to vote from among 10 relievers to determine the 2007 "DHL Presents the Major League Baseball Delivery Man of the Year Award" winner. This officially-sanctioned Major League Baseball award will recognize the most outstanding relief pitcher of the year.

Voting will take place exclusively at, the official Web site of Major League Baseball. As part of the online balloting program, fans can also enter the DHL sweepstakes for a chance to win a trip for two to a game of the 2007 World Series.  

The 10 relievers vying for the Award are:

- Takashi Saito, Los Angeles
- Francisco Cordero, Milwaukee
- Trevor Hoffman, San Diego
- Jason Isringhausen, St. Louis
- Jonathan Papelbon, Boston
- J.J. Putz, Seattle
- Francisco Rodriguez, Anaheim
- Bobby Jenks, Chicago
- Joe Nathan, Minnesota
- Jose Valverde, Arizona  

  To create the ballot, the editorial staff at compiled an initial list of 15 relievers that have had outstanding regular seasons.

The 10 finalists were then chosen from this list by a special Major League Baseball "yellow-ribbon" panel that consists of Mike Bauman, national columnist for; Rich "Goose" Gossage, nine-time All-Star pitcher; Darryl Hamilton, former Major League outfielder and a member of the MLB On-Field Operations staff; Jerome Holtzman, the official MLB Historian and a member of the writer's wing of the National Baseball Hall of Fame; and Bob Watson, Vice President, On-Field Operations, Major League Baseball.

  Throughout the 2007 season, this "yellow-ribbon" panel also selected the relief pitcher who gave each month's most dominant performance. The 2007 winners of the "DHL Presents the Major League Baseball Delivery Man of the Month Award" include Francisco Cordero (April), Trevor Hoffman (May), J.J. Putz (June), Billy Wagner (July) and Takashi Saito (August).

  This is the third year of a multi-year sponsorship agreement that makes DHL the official "Official Express Delivery and Logistics Provider" of Major League Baseball and

  The winner of the "DHL Presents the Major League Baseball Delivery Man of the Year Award" will be announced during the Major League Baseball postseason. Mariano Rivera of the New York Yankees has won back-to-back awards.