Kuo, Schmidt Slugged Homers in 2007

Jason Schmidt and Hong-Chih Kuo smacked home runs during the 2007 season, marking the first homer by a Dodger pitcher since the 2004 season when both Hideo Nomo and Kaz Ishii drove a ball out of the park.

It was first home run in Dodger Blue for each pitcher. Schmidt banged his homer on April 9th against Colorado ace --- Francis in the third inning of a 6-3 loss in Dodger Stadium. Kuo's dinger came June 12 in the second inning of a 4-1 victory, also coming in Dodger Stadium.

It was Kuo's only hit of the season and he was so surprised he flipped his bat just like the big sluggers do, angering the Mets who felt he was showing them up. He later apologized for his actions, saying it was the first home run he had hit since little league play.

Don Drysdale slugged 29 home runs in his Brooklyn/Los Angeles career, 26 of them coming after the club moved to California. Don Newcombe hit 11, all with Brooklyn, and Fernando Valenzuela, now a Dodgers broadcaster, hit eight.

The Records:
 Career home runs  
 Los Angeles    	  All-Time
26 - Don Drysdale	29 - Don Drysdale
 8 - F. Valenzuela	11 - Don Newcombe
 6 - Darren Dreifort	 8 - F. Valenzuela
 5 - Claude Osteen	 6 - Dazzy Vance
 5 - Stan Williams 	 5 - Leon Cadore
 4 - Hideo Nomo  	 5 - Darren Dreifort
 4 - Rick Rhoden	 5 - Claude Osteen
 3 - Burt Hooton	 5 - Stan Williams  
 4 - Hideo Nomo	         4 - Curt Davis
 3 - Larry Sherry        4 - Jim Elliott
	                 4 - Hideo Nomo  
	                 4 - Rick Rhoden
	                 4 - Dutch Ruether
	                 4 - Ben Wade 
	                 4 - Whitlow Wyatt
Los Angeles
Two each - Kevin Brown, Kevin Gross Sandy Koufax, Chan Ho Park, Johnny Podres, Bobby Welch.
One each - Andy Ashby, Tim Belcher, Omar Daal, Eric Gagné, Jim Grant, Charlie Hough, Tommy John, Ramon Martinez, Andy Messersmith, Guillermo Mota, Bob Ojeda, Alejandro Peña, Carlos Perez, Odalis Perez, Jerry Reuss, Rick Sutcliffe, Ismael Valdes, John Wetteland.

Three each - Bill Donovan, Clem Labine.
Two each - Frank Allen, Ralph Branca, Leo Dickerman, Clise Dudley, Burleigh Grimes, Ad Gumbert, William Hart, Jim Hughes, Frank Kitson, Ed Roebuck, Sherry Smith, Ed Stein, Adonis Terry, Hollis Thurston.
One each - Dan Bankhead, Max Butcher, Bob Caruthers, Watty Clark, Bill Doak, Rube Earhardt, Carl Erskine, Fred Fitzsimmons, Hal Gregg, George Haddock, Luke Hamlin, Fred Heimach, Kirby Higbe, Harry Howell, Bill Kennedy, Tom Lovett, Al Mamaux, Harry McIntire, Erv Palica, Ray Phelps, Preacher Roe, Nap Rucker, Henry Schmidt, Johnny Schmitz, George Sharrott and Les Webber.

Single Season homers
Darren Dreifort was the last entry on the single-season list when he hit his third homer in 2000. Don Newcombe (1955) and Don Drysdale (1958 & 1965) lead the chart with seven. Drysdale also hit five in 1961 and four in 1959. The complete list:
7 - Don Newcombe, 1955
7 - Don Drysdale, 1958
7 - Don Drysdale, 1965
5 - Don Drysdale, 1961
4 - Don Drysdale, 1959
3 - Dazzy Vance,1925; Jim Elliott, 1928; Whit Wyatt, 1941; Ben Wade, 1952; Clem Labine, 1955; Rick Rhoden,1977; Fernando Valenzuela, 1984; Darren Dreifort, 2000.