Young's Play Sparks Team USA

Team USA scored a major victory in the World Cup Tournament being played in Taiwan Saturday, thanks in large measure to Delwyn Young , both with a bat and in the field. The latter feat, though, should probably have been accompanied by an asterisk.

With Young supplying a three-run homer plus what was ruled a fielding gem, the American forces downed those from Japan 5-1 to pull to a 3-1 record for the event. The win allowed the US squad to bounce back from an unexpected defeat at the hands of Italy.

Young's big blast came in the first , following a single and a walk issued to Andy LaRoche. He turned on a fast ball and sent it over the centerfield wall, staking the US to a lead that it never relinquished.

His fielding came into play in the second with Japan rallying. With a runner on first, a drive went over the head of Young, playing left field. He raced back, reached up over his shoulder and gloved the ball. But most observers felt he couldn't hang on and it fell to the ground.

Not according to the umpire whose view of the play seems to have been obscured by Young's body. He signaled an out whereupon the runner, who had already reached third, began to retreat. Young retrieved the ball and fired it to first to complete what was then ruled a double play- and giving those who are trying to get instant replay into the game, ammunition for their argument.

In other play, former Dodger outfielder Chin-Feng Chen continued his hot hitting for the host Taiwan team as he went 3-for-5 including a home run and double to lead Taiwan to an 8-4 triumph over Spain.

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories