Spring Training Sked Undetermined

The Dodgers Spring Training 2008 schedule is still obscure but one this is certain, a three-game set March 28-30 with the World Champion Red Sox, one in Los Angeles Memorial Stadium (March 29) just for the memories, is a certainty.

The proposed trip to China is still in the preliminary planning stages. If the trip is approved, the club will probably not return to Vero Beach to finish their spring activities, but will move to Phoenix and complete it there.

The Coliseum was the original home of the Dodgers when they moved from Brooklyn in 1958 and a contest there, with the tempting 250-foot left field fence, will mark the franchise's 50th anniversary in the Southland.

The Coliseum, which is now home to USC football, will reflect the irregular baseball configuration that drove pitchers to consider another line of work when it was the temporary home for the club from 1958-61 while Dodger Stadium was being built.

Dodgers on Veterans Committees List
New rules have created separate Veterans Committees voting on managers/umpires, executives and players, the National Baseball Hall of Fame announced recently the finalists for this year in the first two categories: managers/umpires and executives. Perhaps the new committee will right a long overdue wrong and put Walter O'Malley in the Hall of Fame were he belongs.

On the ballot of umpires and managers, former Dodger manager Davey Johnson, one-time Dodger infielder Dick Williams, Billy Martin, Whitey Herzog, Billy Southworth, Danny Murtaugh and Gene Mauch, plus umpires Doug Harvey, Cy Rigler and Hank O'Day.

The executives list include, Dodgers owner Walter O'Malley, former Dodgers and Padres executive Buzzie Bavasi, Commissioner Bowie Kuhn, Barney Dreyfuss, John Fetzer, Bob Howsam, Ewing Kauffman, John McHale, Gabe Paul and Marvin Miller, the former executive director of the Players Association.

A maximum of four inductees can be elected in each of the two categories. The actual committee votes will be on Dec. 2, and those elected will be announced on Dec. 3 during the first day of the annual Winter Meetings, in Nashville, Tenn.

Players, who are no longer eligible for the annual Baseball Writers Association of America ballot, won't come to a vote again until late next year. And that will be broken down into two ballots: Those who played prior to 1943 and those who played from 1943 and after.

No player has been elected by the Veterans Committee since Bill Mazeroski in 2001. The last manager to be elected was Sparky Anderson in 2000; the last umpire was Nestor Chylak in 1999, and the last Major League executive was Lee MacPhail Jr. in 1998.

The re-constituted Veterans Committee met in 2003, 2005 and this year but no one was elected, prompting a formation earlier this year of the three committee setup to give the process more openness for discussion without sacrificing the 75-percent level of votes for election.

The committee now assembled to elect managers/umpires includes 16 people: 10 Hall of Fame players, three current and former Major League executives, and three veteran media members. The Hall of Famers include, Hank Aaron, Jim Bunning, Bob Gibson, Fergie Jenkins, Al Kaline, Tommy Lasorda, Phil Niekro, Tony Perez, Earl Weaver and Billy Williams. The committee now assembled to elect executives is made up of 12 members: Two Hall of Fame players, seven former or current Major League executives and three veteran media members. Monte Irvin and Harmon Killebrew are the Hall of Fame players.

As in the recent past, all of the 63 living Hall of Fame players make up the bulk of the committee to elect their brethren. But, except those 12 selected for the other two committees, they no longer have a hand in electing managers/umpires or executives.