Dodgers Shut Out of MVP Voting

No Dodgers place first 15 of the National League "Most Valuable Player" voting for 2007. Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins took the big price, out scoring Matt Holliday of Colorado and Prince Fielder of Milwaukee.

Two other Philadelphia players finished in the top 10 --Ryan Howard fifth and Chase Utley seventh -- in addition, Ryan Howard of Philadelphia won the award last year, making one wonder why the Phillies weren't at least in either World Series and destroying the myth that you had to be on a winning team to be recognized for the award.

The last Dodger to finish in the top 10 was third baseman Adrian Beltré who was second in 2004 and according to one writer, was the non-steroid winner when Barry Bonds finished first.

There has been only two Dodger winners in the last 41 years -- Steve Garvey in 1974 and Kirk Gibson in 1988 -- since Sandy Koufax won his third award in 1966.

The BBWA members are asked to vote for 10, and the votes are weighted 14-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

Voting began in 1913, although no official MVP voting was conducted 1915-23 or in 1930.
  2007 NL MVP voting:
  Player                        1st     2nd     3rd     total
Jimmy Rollins,  Philadelphia  	16	 7	 4	353
Matt Holliday, Colorado    	11	18	 1	336
Prince Fielder, Milwaukee   	5	 6	17	284
David Wright, New York  	-	 1	 4	182
Ryan Howard, Philadelphia   	-	 -	 2	112

Chipper Jones, Atlanta	        -	-	 1	107
Jake Peavey, San Diego	        -	-	 -	 97
Chase Utley, Philadelphia	-	-	 -	 89
Albert Pujols, St. Louis	-	-	 -	 50
Hanley Ramirez, Florida	        -	-	 -	 49
Eric Byrnes, Arizona	        -	-	 -	 43
Alfonso, Soriano, Chicago	-	-	 -	 39
Arimas Ramirez, Chicago	        -	-	 -	 36
Jose Valverde, Arizona	        -	-	 -	 19
Miguel Cabrera, Florida	        -	-	 -	 18
All-time MVPs
Dodger players have earned points in MVP voting since 1913, although no official MVP voting was conducted during 1915-23 or in 1930.

For the all-time rankings, players are awarded points similar to the MVP voting, with 14 for a first place vote, nine for second, etc. Players are ranked by total points earned over their Dodgers' career.

Jake Daubert was the first winner in 1913, followed by Dazzy Vance in 1924, Dolph Camilli in 1941, Jackie Robinson in 1949, Campanella in 1951, 1953, and 1955, Don Newcombe in 1956, Maury Wills in 1962, Sandy Koufax in 1963, Steve Garvey in 1974 and Kirk Gibson in 1988.

Brackets indicate times each was picked in the top ten. The * indicates he won the MVP award:
 Career Player Points
35—*Steve Garvey (5) 
32—Mike Piazza (5) 
31—*Roy Campanella (4) 
30—Duke Snider (6) 
29—Pee Wee Reese (8) 

28—*Sandy Koufax (3) 
25—*Jackie Robinson (4)
25—*Maury Wills (4) 
23—Pedro Guerrero (3) 
17—*Don Newcombe (3)                      
Others career vote totals--*Dolph Camilli, Pete Reiser, Dixie Walker and *Dazzy Vance 16; *Kirk Gibson, Reggie Smith; Jake Daubert 13; Tommy Davis, Don Drysdale and Jim Gilliam 12; Dusty Baker, Shawn Green, 11.
Nine points--Adrian Beltré, Babe Herman, Sal Maglie and Zach Wheat.
Eight--Joe Black, Gil Hodges, Mike Marshall, Lefty O'Doul and Whitlow Wyatt.
Seven--Bruce Edwards, Carl Furillo, Billy Herman, Wally Moon, Mickey Owen and Ron Perranoski.
Six--Fred Fitzsimmons, Eric Karros, Eddie Murray, Wes Parker, Preacher Roe, Fernando Valenzuela and Jim Wynn.
Five--Eric Gagné and Orel Hershiser.
Four--Brett Butler, Kirby Higbe, Charlie Neal, Phil Regan, Eddie Stanky and Glenn Wright.
Three--Ron Cey, Leo Durocher and Frank Howard.
Two--Carl Erskine, Jake Fournier and Gary Sheffield.
One--Al Downing, Luke Hamiln, Al Lopez, Goody Rosen and Darryl Strawberry.