Dodgers last game in Vero Beach March 17

The Dodgers, who will be celebrating their 50th anniversary of moving West, have released their tentative Spring Training schedule for 2008. The schedule is likely to cover two countries, three states and begins with their home opener on Thursday, February 28 against the Atlanta Braves at Holman Stadium in Vero Beach, FL.

The 2008 season marks the Dodgers' 61st year at Dodgertown and the 56th season of play at Holman Stadium. The team is tentatively scheduled to play six Cactus League games in Arizona from March 20-25 and is currently under consideration by Major League Baseball to take part in a two-game series in Beijing, China.

The club was hoping it would know by now whether the new Spring Training site it will share with the White Sox in Glendale, Ariz., will be finished in time for the 2009 camp. Architects have not passed that information to Glendale officials yet, so the Dodgers are hoping that will be done within the week.

During Grapefruit League competition, the Dodgers will play 10 games at Holman Stadium including a home game on Sunday, March 9 against the World Champion Boston Red Sox. Other popular opponents to visit Dodgertown are the New York Mets (March 2) and St. Louis Cardinals (March 7 and 14).

In the team's first-ever spring slate in Arizona, the Dodgers are expected to work out of Oakland's Phoenix Municipal Stadium and will host the Chicago White Sox on March 20. The two teams are currently building a state-of-the-art Spring Training facility in Glendale, Arizona. Los Angeles will travel to Tucson, AZ to face the defending National League Champion Colorado Rockies on March 23.

The Dodgers will face the Angels twice during 2008 Spring Training - on March 22 in Phoenix and on March 27 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim.

The Dodgers will face at least 14 different teams during Spring Training, including five meetings with the Red Sox. In addition to the March 9 game at Holman Stadium, the Dodgers will travel to Fort Myers on March 6. The two teams will close out the exhibition season with a three-game series in Los Angeles from March 28-30, with the first and last game taking place at Dodger Stadium and the middle contest, Saturday March 29, to be held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum which was home to the Dodgers when they first moved to Los Angeles from 1958-61.

Major League Baseball is waiting for permission from the Chinese government for a two-game series between the Dodgers and Padres on March 15-16 in Beijing, China.

Dodger pitchers, catchers and players rehabilitating from injuries are scheduled to report on Feb. 14 and have their first workout on Feb. 15. Position players will report on Feb. 19, with the first full-squad workout on Feb. 20.

2008 Exhibition Schedule
Thursday Feb. 28 Atlanta Vero Beach
Friday	Feb. 29 @ Atlanta Orlando 
Saturday March 1 @ New York Port St. Lucie 
Sunday March 2 New York Vero Beach 
Monday March 3 Baltimore Vero Beach 
Tuesday March 4 @ Washington Viera 
Wednesday March 5 @ New York Port St. Lucie 
Thursday March 6 @ Boston Fort Myers 
Friday March 7 St. Louis Vero Beach 
Saturday March 8 @ St. Louis Jupiter 
Sunday March 9 Boston Vero Beach 
Monday March 10 @ Baltimore Ft. Lauderdale 
Tuesday March 11 Florida Vero Beach 
Wednesday March 12 Washington (ss) Vero Beach 
Thursday March 13 @ Houston (ss) Kissimmee 
Friday March 14 St. Louis C(ss) Vero Beach 
Saturday March 15 @ Washington (ss) Viera 
Saturday March 15 San Diego @ Beijing, China
Sunday March 16 Florida (ss) Vero Beach 
Sunday March 16 San Diego (ss) @ Beijing, China

*Final game in Holman Stadium*
Monday March 17 Houston (ss) Vero Beach

Tuesday March 18 @ Florida (ss) Jupiter 
Wednesday March 19 Off Day
Thursday March 20 Chi White Sox Phoenix, AZ 
Friday March 21 @ Arizona Tucson, AZ 
Saturday March 22 Anaheim Phoenix, AZ 
Sunday March 23 @ Colorado Tucson, AZ 
Monday March 24 @ Kansas City Surprise, AZ 6:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 25 @ Milwaukee Phoenix, AZ 
Wednesday March 26 Off Day
Thursday March 27 @ Anaheim Anaheim 7:05 p.m.
Friday March 28 Boston Dodger Stadium 7:40 p.m.
Saturday March 29 Boston L.A. Coliseum TBA
Sunday March 30 Boston Dodger Stadium 

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories