Blake DeWitt Wins Mulvey Award

Infielder Blake DeWitt has been named the winner of the 2008 Jim and Dearie Mulvey Award, which goes to the top rookie in camp.

The award, which has been given every year since 1969, is named after the former Dodger owners, who had a share of the team from 1938 until 1975.

So far this spring, DeWitt has batted .286 with three doubles, a triple and two homers with four RBI while playing only nine games at third base in the absence of both Nomar Garciaparra and Andy LaRoche, who were injured.

The 2007 winner was Hong-Chih Kuo, in 2006 it was Tony Abreu, 2006 James Loney and 2005 it was Jason Repko. All these previous winners

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories