Albuquerque Hall Welcomes Six

The Albuquerque Professional Baseball Hall of Fame, which was created in conjunction with last year's Triple-A All-Star Fiesta, will welcome six new members as chosen by a special Albuquerque Professional Baseball Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

For many years, Albuquerque was the Dodgers' AAA club, before they moved the franchise to Las Vegas.

Three of them include names familiar to all Dodger fans, former Dukes manager Del Crandall, former Dukes general manager Pat McKernan and Dukes Triple Crown outfielder Mike Marshall.

Plus the splendid 1981 Dukes team that included, along with inductee Mike Marshall, Wayne Caughey, Don Crow, Lary Fobbs, Rudy Law, Candy Maldonado, Bobby Mitchell, Jack Perconte, Dave Richards, Ron Roenicke, Alejando Taveras, Gary Weiss, Tack Wilson and Mike Zouras.

Pitchers were Brian Holton, Kevin Keefe, Dave Moore, Alejandro Peña, Ted Power, Gil Rondon, Steve Shirley, Brent Strom, Bill Siwacki and Ricky Wright. Del Crandall was the manager and his coaches were Sandy Koufax, Dick McLaughlin and Brent Strom.

Marshall was Minor League Player of the Year, Crandall was Minor League Manager of the Year and McKernan was Triple-A General Manager of the Year.

They won the first half of the season by 13 games (48-16) and the second half by 10 games (46-22) and won the Pacific Coast League playoff by beating Tacoma (Oakland) three games to one.

Also to be inducted are former manager and outfielder Hershel Martin and executives Tom Bolack/John McMullen.
A committee of 14 Albuquerque Baseball experts, spanning seven decades, chose the inaugural Hall of Fame class based on contributions to baseball in Albuquerque, both on and off the field.

The induction ceremony will take place at Isotopes Park as part of Dukes Retro Night on July 23 and each inductee will have a plaque commemorating their achievements posted in the Albuquerque Baseball Hall of Fame display in McKernan Hall located in Isotopes Park.

Crandall managed the Dukes for five years, posting an impressive 471-314 (.600) record while winning four Pacific Coast League championships. The 1981 team Crandall helmed is considered one of the best in Minor League History, going 94-38 en route to a PCL title.

A key component of that squad was Marshall, who won the Triple Crown after batting .373 with 34 homers and 137 RBI.

McKernan was a three-time PCL executive of the year, serving as general manager of the Dukes for 21 years from 1979-2000, a period that is considered one of the team's best.

Last year, Tommy Lasorda became the inaugural inductee to the Albuquerque Professional Baseball Hall of Fame, which was created to honor professional baseball players, coaches, executives and media that set the tremendous legacy of baseball in the Duke City.

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories