Pierre the Fastest to 100 Steals

On August 1, Juan Pierre pinch-hit for young Clayton Kershaw in a scoreless game against the Arizona Diamondbacks. Randy Johnson was pitching and the young and the old hurlers were having their way with the batters this night.

The speedy Dodgers outfielder bounced the ball up the middle and Arizona second baseman Orlando Hudson fumbled it for just a moment, but long enough for Pierre to beat the throw.

The Diamondbacks, as well as the capacity crowd of 55,239, knew what Pierre was going to do next --and he did just as they expected, breaking as Johnson delivered the ball to Matt Kemp at the plate.

Pierre slid safely into second base with his 37th stolen base of the season. Moments later Kemp lined a double into left field and Pierre scored the first run of the game.

The run didn't stand up; Arizona scored twice in the seventh off of Chan Ho Park and Joe Beimel and won the game 2-1.

Although the stolen base didn't make the winning difference in the game, it still was important.

Pierre had recorded his 100th steal, only the 27th player in Dodgers history to hit the 100 number, and he did it in his 242nd game, breaking he 301-game record set by Davey Lopes in 1975. Steve Sax pilfered his 100th in 302 games in 1987 and is the youngest at 23.

Maury Wills, the all-time Dodgers record holder with 490 steals and the only Dodger to collect 100 in a single season (104 in 1962), took 398 games.

Pierre joins and exclusive group who swiped the magic number in under 400 game. Along with Pierre, Lopes, Sax and Wills, Willie Keeler hit the century mark in 1901 in his 344th game and Tom Daily just made it under the 400 barrier in his 355th game. Sax's 100th steal came at age 23 and Brett Butler (1993) was the oldest at 38.

Total Stolen Bases and year
they stole their 100th

490- Maury Wills, 1962
418- Davey Lopes, 1975
335- Willie Davis, 1964
290- Steve Sax, 1987
232- Pee Wee Reese, 1949
209- Jimmy Sheckard, 1903
203- Zach Wheat, 1915
203- Jim Gilliam, 1958
196- Jackie Robinson, 1950
187- Jake Daubert, 1913 
179- Brett Butler, 1993
167- Bill Russell, 1978
166- George Cutshaw, 1915
164- Jimmy Johnston, 1921
146- Bill Dahlen, 1902
140- Eric Young, 1999
128- Willie Keeler, 1901
119- Ken Landreaux, 1985
118- Dave Roberts, 2005
114- John Hummel, 1912
114- Delino DeShields, 1993
110- Harry Lumley, 1907
107- Tom Daly, 1901
104- Raul Mondesi, 1998
101- Hi Myers, 1922
101- Juan Pierre*, 2008
100- Mariano Duncan, 1990