Maddux Wins 18th Gold Glove

Dodger pitcher Greg Maddux, who apparently will retire according to his agent Scott Boras, claimed his 18th Rawlings National League Gold Glove Award, honoring the best defensive players at each position. It is his fifth such award in succession after winning 13 straight 1990-2002 and may be the best fielding pitcher of all-time.

Maddux, 42, split the season with San Diego and Los Angeles and the Dodgers were showing some interest in re-signing him for 2009. He has not made his retirement official as yet. The future Hall of Famer won the award for the second time with the Dodgers, after taking home the hardware with the club after the 2006 season. In both years, Maddux was acquired by General Manager Ned Colletti in a late-season trade and helped the Dodgers to a postseason berth.

Dodger Catcher Russell Martin, who won the honor in 2007, was replaced on the team by Yadier Molina of St. Louis. Martin led Major League Baseball with 149 games caught, 1,238.0 innings and led the National League with a 3.62 catcher's ERA.

The National League squad includes five first-time winners: Molina, Adrian Gonzalez of San Diego, Brandon Phillips of Cincinnati, and outfielders Nate McLough of Pittburgh and former Dodger farmhand Shane Victorino of Philadelphia.

The 2008 team:

 P - Greg Maddux, Padres/Dodgers
 C - Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B - Adrian Gonzalez, Padres
2B - Brandon Phillips, Reds
3B - David Wright, New York
SS - Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia
OF - Nate McLough, Pirates
OF - Shane Victorino, Philadelphia
Of - Carlos Beltran, Mets
In 1957, the award's initial season, Gil Hodges won the first of his three gloves. He also won in 1958 and 1959. Hodges started a trend of Dodger first base Gold Glove winners, including six straight for Wes Parker 1967-72 and four straight awards for Garvey 1974-77.

Center fielder Willie Davis was a three-time award winner. Shortstop Maury Wills won twice as did Roseboro, pitcher Andy Messersmith and right fielder Raul Mondesi plus, of course, Maddux.
A Dodgers third baseman has never won a Gold Glove despite the sustained brilliance of Adrian Beltré during his 1998-2004 tour of duty with the Dodgers, although he won his first award this year while playing for the Mariners. 
The complete of Dodger winners:
2008 - Greg Maddux p
2007 - Russell Martin, C
2006 - Greg Maddux, P
2004 - Steve Finley, OF
2004 - Cesar Izturis, SS
1998 - Charles Johnson, C
1997 - Raul Mondesi, OF
1995 - Raul Mondesi, OF
1988 - Orel Hershiser, P
1986 - Fernando Valenzuela, P
1981 - Dusty Baker, OF
1978 - Davey Lopes, 2B
1977 - Steve Garvey, 1B
1976 - Steve Garvey, 1B
1975 - Andy Messersmith, P
1975- -Steve Garvey, 1B
1974 - Andy Messersmith, P
1974 - Steve Garvey, 1B
1973 - Willie Davis, OF
1972 - Wes Parker, 1B
1972 - Willie Davis, OF
1971 - Willie Davis, OF
1971 - Wes Parker, 1B
1970 - Wes Parker, 1B
1969 - Wes Parker, 1B
1968 - Wes Parker, 1B
1967 - Wes Parker, 1B
1966 - John Roseboro, C
1962 - Maury Wills, SS
1961 - Maury Wills, SS
1961 - John Roseboro, C
1960 - Wally Moon, OF
1959 - Charlie Neal, 2B
1959 - Gil Hodges, 1B
1958 - Gil Hodges, 1B
1957 - Gil Hodges, 1B

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories