Torre Fourth in N.L. Manager of Year Voting

Joe Torre finished fourth in the National League Manager of the Year voting, trailing Lou Pinella of the Cubs, Charlie Manuel of the Phillies and Fredi Gonzalez of the Marlins.

. Torre guided a very young and very old team into the Western Division title, then fell to the Phillies four games to one in the National League Championship Series.

The Dodgers put on a late season kick to win the NL West and then upset the heavily-favored Cubs in the NL Division Series.

The Dodgers' strong finish helped Torre's case, but it wasn't enough to convince voters he deserved his third overall. He won the AL trophy twice with the Yankees.

Lou Pinella of Chicago received 103 points, including 15 of the 32 first place votes. Manuel was second with 67, Gonzalez third with 48 and Torre right behind with 45 and three first place votes.

The Dodgers haven't had a N.L. Manager of the Year since Tommy Lasorda won the trophy in 1988. He also won it in 1983. In addition, Lasorda was the Minor League Manager of the Year in 1970; AP and UPI Manager of the Year in 1977 and AP Manager of the Year in 1981.

Leo Durocher won The Sporting News Manager of the Year award in 1939 at Brooklyn, as did Walter Alston in 1955. Alston won in 1959 and 1963 in Los Angeles.

 National League Manager of the Year

 Manager, club	        1st	2nd	3rd	totals
Lou Pinella, Chi	15	8	4	103
Charlie Manuel, Phil	 8	6	9	 67
Fredi Gonzalez, Fla	 5	6	5	 48
Joe Torre, LA	         3	8	6	 45
Tony LaRussa, StL	 1	1	3	 11
Jerry Manuel NYM	 0	3	1	 10
Cecil Cooper, Hou	 0	0	3	  3
Dale Sveum, Mil	         0	0	1	  1