Billingsley First Pitcher to Homer Since 2007

Chad Billingsley slugged a home run on July 5th in San Diego, becoming the first pitcher to homer in the park, but a ninth inning rally cost him his 10th win of the season although the Dodgers finally won 7-6 in 13 innings.

Billingsley's shot came while leading off in the fifth inning and gave the Dodgers a 5-0 lead. San Diego tied the game in the ninth and James Loney won it in the 14th with the fourth Los Angeles home run of the game.

It was the first home run by a Dodgers pitcher since Jason Schmidt and Hong-Chih Kuo smacked home runs during the 2007 season.

Schmidt hit his in the third inning of the fifth game of the season, April 9, against Colorado. Kuo's came on June 12 in the second inning against the Mets.

It was Kuo's only hit of the season and he was so surprised he flipped his bat just like the big sluggers do, angering the Mets who felt he was showing them up. He later apologized for his actions, saying it was the first home run he had hit since little league play.

Don Drysdale slugged 29 home runs in his Brooklyn/Los Angeles career, 26 of them coming after the club moved to California. Don Newcombe hit 11, all with Brooklyn, and Fernando Valenzuela, now a Dodgers broadcaster, hit eight.

The Records:

 Career home runs  

 Los Angeles    	  All-Time
26 - Don Drysdale	29 - Don Drysdale
 8 - F. Valenzuela	11 - Don Newcombe
 6 - Darren Dreifort	 8 - F. Valenzuela
 5 - Claude Osteen	 6 - Dazzy Vance
 5 - Stan Williams 	 5 - Leon Cadore
 4 - Hideo Nomo  	 5 - Darren Dreifort
 4 - Rick Rhoden	 5 - Claude Osteen
 3 - Burt Hooton	 5 - Stan Williams  
 4 - Hideo Nomo	         4 - Curt Davis
 3 - Larry Sherry	 4 - Jim Elliott
	                 4 - Hideo Nomo  
	                 4 - Rick Rhoden
	                 4 - Dutch Ruether
	                 4 - Ben Wade 
	                 4 - Whitlow Wyatt

 Single Season, Los Angeles
  Two each - Kevin Brown, Kevin Gross 
Sandy Koufax, Chan Ho Park, Johnny 
Podres, Bobby Welch.

  One each - Andy Ashby, Tim Belcher, 
Chad Billingsley, Omar Daal, Eric
Gagné, Jim Grant, Charlie Hough, 
Tommy John, Ramon Martinez, Andy 
Messersmith, Guillermo Mota, Bob 
Ojeda, Alejandro Peña, Carlos Perez, 
Odalis Perez, Jerry Reuss, Rick Sutcliffe, 
Ismael Valdes, John Wetteland.

 Single Season, Brooklyn
  Three each -  Bill Donovan, Clem Labine.

  Two each - Frank Allen, Ralph Branca, 
Leo Dickerman, Clise Dudley, Burleigh 
Grimes, Ad Gumbert, William Hart, Jim 
Hughes, Frank Kitson, Ed Roebuck, 
Sherry Smith, Ed Stein, Adonis Terry, 
Hollis Thurston. 

  One each - Dan Bankhead, Max Butcher, 
Bob Caruthers, Watty Clark, Bill Doak, Rube 
Earhardt, Carl Erskine, Fred Fitzsimmons, 
Hal Gregg, George Haddock, Luke Hamlin, 
Fred Heimach, Kirby Higbe, Harry Howell, 
Bill Kennedy, Tom Lovett, Al Mamaux, Harry 
McIntire, Erv Palica, Ray Phelps, Preacher Roe, 
Nap Rucker, Henry Schmidt, Johnny Schmitz, 
George Sharrott and Les Webber.
Single Season Homer Record
Darren Dreifort was the last entry on the single-season list when he hit his third homer in 2000. Don Newcombe (1955) and Don Drysdale (1958 & 1965) lead the chart with seven. Drysdale also hit five in 1961 and four in 1959. The complete list:

 Single Season records:

7 - Don Newcombe, 1955
7 - Don Drysdale, 1958
7 - Don Drysdale, 1965
5 - Don Drysdale, 1961
4 - Don Drysdale, 1959
3 - Dazzy Vance,1925; Jim Elliott, 1928; Whit Wyatt,
1941; Ben Wade, 1952; Clem Labine, 1955; Rick
Rhoden,1977; Fernando Valenzuela, 1984; Darren
Dreifort, 2000.