Kemp and Ethier Win Silver Sluggers

The Los Angeles Dodgers and Louisville Slugger today announced that outfielders Andre Ethier and Matt Kemp have each won their first-career Silver Slugger Award. The awards were handed out in a special hour-long telecast on MLB Network. Kemp was honored with a Gold Glove just days ago.

The Dodgers were one of only three teams with two representatives earning the distinction, joining the Yankees (Derek Jeter and Mark Teixeira) and Blue Jays (Aaron Hill and Adam Lind). The last time Los Angeles had two winners in the same season came in 1995, when Mike Piazza and Eric Karros won the awards at catcher and first base, respectively. The last Dodger outfielder to capture the award was Kirk Gibson in 1988.

 2009 Silver Sluggers
Albert Pujols 1b		.327-47-135
Chase Utley 2b			.282-31-93
Ryan Zimmerman 3b		.292-33-106
Hanley Ramirez ss		.342-24-106
Ryan Braun of			.320-32-114
Andre Ethier of			.272-31-106
Matt Kemp	of		.297-26-101
Brian McCann c			.281-21-94
Carlos Zambrano p		.217- 4-112
  Ethier hit .272 while establishing career highs in hits (162), doubles (42), home runs (31), RBI (106), walks (72), and runs (92). The right fielder became just the fourth Dodger in franchise history to amass at least 40 doubles and 30 home runs, joining Babe Herman (1930), Raul Mondesi (1997), and Karros (1999). The Arizona native tied for sixth in the NL in RBI and fifth in doubles.  

  Ethier also had a flair for the dramatic, leading the Major Leagues with six walk-off hits, including a Major League record-tying four walk-off home runs. Jimmie Foxx in 1940, Roy Sievers in 1957, and Ethier this past season are the only players in baseball history to hit four walk-off homers in a season. In addition, the fourth-year player's six multi-homer games tied Ryan Howard for the second most in the Major Leagues, trailing only Albert Pujols (10).

  Matt Kemp

Kemp joins the Nationals' Ryan Zimmerman as the only two players in 2009 to have claimed a Rawlings Gold Glove and a Silver Slugger Award, as he won the Gold Glove just yesterday. Kemp is one of only three Dodgers to have ever won both awards in the same season, joining Dusty Baker (1981) and Russell Martin (2007). 

  Kemp established career highs with 26 home runs, 101 RBI, 180 hits, 97 runs scored, and 52 walks, while leading the Dodgers in runs, hits, stolen bases (34), and batting average (.297). The Oklahoma native became the first Dodger in franchise history to post at least 25 homers, 100 RBI, and 30 stolen bases in a season and just the eighth to hit at least 20 homers and steal at least 30 bases.

  The Gold Glove center fielder tied a Dodger franchise record by hitting three grand slams this season and he led the squad with 49 multi-hit games. Kemp's 10 RBI in extra innings was the most by a Major Leaguer since Juan Gonzalez in 1991 and his .362 average vs. left-handed pitching ranked sixth in the National League.

  The Dodger duo of Ethier and Kemp were the first set of Dodger teammates to each drive in 100 runs since Shawn Green and Gary Sheffield in 2001. Ethier, Kemp, and Manny Ramirez combined to hit 76 home runs this season, which was the second-most prodigious in baseball, behind the Phillies' trio of Jayson Werth, Raul Ibanez, and Shane Victorino, who hit 80.

  The Dodgers did not have a Silver Slugger Award winner in 2008 as the club's last player to win the honor was Russell Martin in 2007. Since the creation of the award in 1980, a Dodger has taken home the honor 21 times, led by Piazza's five trophies. Piazza went on to win another five awards after he was traded.  Outfielder Dusty Baker won in 1980, the initial year the award was given and again in 1981. Pitcher Fernando Valenzuela won in 1981 and 1983 and is the only other Dodgers multiple winner.

 Dodgers Winners:
2009 - Matt Kemp of			.297-31-106
2009 - Andre Ethier of		        .272-31-106
2007 - Russell Martin c		        .293-19-87
2005 - Jeff Kent 2b			.289-29-107
2004 - Adrian Beltré 3b		        .334-48-121
1997 - Mike Piazza c		        .329-32-111
1996 - Mike Piazza c		        .362-40-124
1995 - Mike Piazza c		        .346-32-93
1996 - Erik Karros 1b		        .298-32-105
1994 - Mike Piazza c		        .319-24-92
1993 - Mike Piazza c	                .318-35-112
1993 - Orel Hershiser p			.356-0-6
1990 - Eddy Murray 1b			.330-26-95
1988 - Kirk Gibson of			.290-25-76
1988 - Tim Leary p 			.269-0-9	
1986 - Steve Sax 2b			.332-6-56
1983 - Fernando Valenzuela p	  	.187-1-9
1982 - Pedro Guerrero of		.302-32-100
1981 - Dusty Baker of			.320-9-49
1981 - Fernando Valenzuela p		.250-0-7
1980 - Dusty Baker of			.284-29-97
  Winners were picked by major league managers and coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players. Selections for each position were based on a combination of offensive statistics, such as batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as impressions of a player's offensive value.

The specially designed Silver Slugger Award will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball, in a ceremony early in the 2010 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league.

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories