Andre Dawson Earns Hall of Fame Nod

Andre Dawson is this year's only electee to the National Baseball Hall of Fame, it was announced on Wednesday. Dawson, an outfielder with power, speed and a cannon for an arm, made it on his ninth try, earning 77.9 percent of the votes with 420 of the 539 ballots including his name. Five Dodgers on the ballot, including Eric Karros, didn't receive much support.

In the tightest finish in Hall of Fame voting history, Bert Blyleven finished just five votes short with 74.2 percent of the vote, and Roberto Alomar registered the most votes ever for a first-year candidate without getting elected with 73.7 percent, finishing eight votes short with 397.

The right-handed pitcher Blyleven was shut out on his 13th opportunity on the ballot. Alomar, a second baseman, was among 13 players on the ballot for the first time. Barry Larkin, the former Reds shortstop, the next highest percentage among first-timers with 51.6 percent.

Fred McGriff, who played briefly with the Dodgers in 2003 received 116 votes or 21.5% and Dodgers hitting boach Don Mattingly garnered 86 votes or 16.1%,

Three former Dodgers received less than 5% of the votes and thus will not be carried on the BBWAA ballot again. They include: Robin Ventura, 7 votes; Eric Karros, 2 votes and Todd Zeile, who did not receive a vote.

Some of those eligible for Hall of Fame Voting in 2011 are former Dodgers minor league reliever John Franco and Jeff Bagwell, Rafael Palmeiro, Larry Walker, Juan Gonzalez and John Olerud.

The Class of 2012: Bernie Williams, Vinny Castilla and Javy Lopez.

The Class of 2013: Mike Piazza, Kenny Lofton and David Wells, who played with the Dodgers along with Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Craig Craig Biggio and Curt Schilling.

The Class of 2014: Former Dodgers Jeff Kent and Greg Maddux and Frank Thomas, Mike Mussina and Moises Alou.

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories