Kemp's Third Slam Puts Him in Good Company

Matt Kemp slugged his third grand slam of the 2009 season in the final series with Milwaukee just before the All-Star break, tying him club record along with Kal Daniels (1990), Mike Piazza (1998) and Adrian Beltré (2004). Oyster Burns hit the first Brooklyn slam in 1890. Gil Hodges hit the last one in 1957 and the first one in Los Angeles in 1958.

Kemp has collected slams on April 19 against Colorado, May 7th against Washington, both in Dodger Stadium, and his third on July 10 in Milwaukee in the top of the 10th inning.

Two grand slams in a single game is a real rarity, but Jimmy Sheckard and Joe Kelly performed the feat in 1901, with Sheckard added another slam the following day. Pedro Guerrero and Mariano Duncan, now the Dodgers first base coach, each had one in the same game 1985, for the second, and final, time in Dodgers history.

Daniels hit his first grand slam in May, then added two more in September ten days apart. Beltré hit his in July, August and September and Piazza, remarkably enough, hit all three on April 9, 10 and 24 of 1998, just before his ill-fated trade that set the Dodgers organization back at least five years.

Piazza was the oldest to hit three in a season at 29. Daniels was 26, Beltré 24 and Kemp is 24. After the quartet with three each, those who have hit two grand slams is an single season:

Adrian Beltré (2000), Todd Benzinger (19920 Del Bissonette (1930), Greg Brock (1985), Dolph Camilli (1942), Roy Campanella (1951-52-53), Ron Cey (1977), Carl Furillo (1952), Nomar Garciaparra (2006),Steve Garvey 1977), Shawn Green (2000-04), Babe Herman (1929), Gene Hermanski (1949), Gil Hodges (1949-50-51-52-57), Frank Howard (1960), Todd Hundley (2000), Brian Jordan (2002), Jeff Kent (2005), Cookie Lavagetto (1939), Mike Marshall (1985), Luis Olmo (1945), Mike Piazza (1994-95), Mike Scioscia (1989), Jimmy Sheckard (1901), Duke Snider (1953-55), Danny Taylor (1935), Robin Ventura (2004).

Career Records
Gil Hodges holds the franchise record for most career grand slams (14), hitting 13 in Brooklyn and one in Los Angeles, and is the only player in double figures. He hit a pair of jackpot shots in 1949, 1954, 1951, 1952 and 1957. Mike Piazza, who has eight, is the Los Angeles leader.

Carl Furillo also has eight; Roy Campanella, Shawn Green, Mike Marshall and Pee Wee Reese six; Adrian Beltré, Ron Cey and Duke Snider five to round out the top 10.

Grand Slam leaders:

 Los Angeles 	         All Time
8 - Mike Piazza	        14 - Gil Hodges
6 - Shawn Green  	 8 - Carl Furillo
6 - Mike Marshall	 8 - Mike Piazza
5 - Adrian Beltré 	 6 - Roy Campanella
5 - Ron Cey  	         6 - Pee Wee Reese
5 - Ron Cey	         6 - Shawn Green
	                 6 - Mike Marshall
4 - Dusty Baker 
4 - Greg Brock	         5 - Duke Snider
4 - Kal Daniels	         5 - Ron Cey
4 - Steve Garvey	 4 - Dusty Baker
4 - Matt Kemp	         4 - Greg Brock
4 - Steve Yeager	 4 - Kal Daniels
	                 4 - Steve Garvey
	                 4 - Matt Kemp
  	                 4 - Dixie Walker
	                 4 - Steve Yeager
Three each - Del Bissonette, Dolph Camilli, Tommy Davis, Willie Davis, Frank Howard, Cookie Lavagetto, Jimmy Sheckard, Danny Taylor.

Two each - Todd Benzinger, Oyster Burns, Billy Cox, Bruce Edwards, Ron Fairly, Nomar Garciaparra, Pedro Guerrero, Babe Herman, Gene Hermanski, Brian Jordan, Eric Karros, Jeff Kent, Candy LaChance, Davey Lopes, Ken McMullen, Raul Mondesi, Luis Olmo, Jackie Robinson, Johnny Roseboro, Mike Scioscia, Robin Ventura, Zach Wheat, Hack Wilson, Jimmy Wynn, Todd Zeile.

Erv Palica (1950) and Don Drysdale (1961) are the only to pitchers to hit grand slams. Only twenty-two-year-old Jimmy Sheckard (1903) and Piazza have collected a jackpot shot on successive days.

Martin Moves into Record Book
The little boy in all of us have played the game many times. Bottom of the ninth, score tied, bases loaded and you're at bat. Russell Martin acted out the part in real time against Pittsburgh on April 21, 2007, except the game was in the 10th. And it ended like it does for all of us non-participants: grand-slam, game over, instant heroship.

Normally forgotten in the dream were the important participants who tied the game in the ninth so it would reach the 10th and those who reached base before the big hit.

Pinch-hitter Wilson Valdez tied the game in the ninth almost by himself, reaching base on a fielder's choice, moving to second on a wild pitch and third on an overthrow by the catcher. He scored moments later on a passed ball, sliding across the plate just before the tag.

In the 10th, Juan Pierre led off the inning with a line single to right and moved to second on a single by Jeff Kent. Luis Gonzalez worked a walk, setting the stage for Martin' big hit that landed in the Dodgers' bullpen in left field and in the hearts of the Dodger fans.

Martin's big hit broke a 3-3 tie to beat Pittsburgh 7-3 and was the 11th walkoff grand slam in franchise history.

Two of them came on pinch-hits (Hack Wilson and Hansen); Steve Finley's clinched the 2004 N.L. West title. Davey Lopes is the only player to put his name on the list twice.

Winning Pinch Hit Grand Slams

Hack Wilson (May 14, 1933)
Dolph Camilli (August 22, 1942)
Jackie Robinson (June 24, 1948)
Tommy Davis (June 2, 1961)
Davey Lopes (June 6, 1978)
Davey Lopes (September 2, 1979)
Mike Marshall (September 7, 1983)
Dave Hansen (June 28, 1993)
Steve Finley (September 2, 2004)
Nomar Garciaparra (September 24, 2006)
Russell Martin (April 21, 2007)

LA Dodgers Insider Top Stories